Traditional Reuben Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
This tasted just like a reuben sandwich and my husband said it was even better!! :) I used deli corned beef and had them slice it about 1/2" thick, which worked out well and made it very easy to cut into cubes... The only ingredient changes I made were I didn't add the minced onion (we didn't miss it and besides, there are no onions on a reuben sandwich), I used LIGHT sour cream instead of regular, and I only used 10 slices of just the light rye bread because that's what I had on hand... To keep them from getting too soggy, I toasted the bread cubes first and made sure to squeeze out as much of the sauerkraut juice as I could before I layered it on top of the bread cubes... For the topping, I slightly crumbled about 1 cup of the toasted bread cubes and then tossed them in the melted butter, then sprinkled them on top of the cheese... Oh, and I sprayed the foil w/PAM before covering it, to keep it from sticking... YUM! YUM! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This recipe is excellent! Served this for New Years' dinner to my parents, everyone loved it. Only had lt. rye bread, used a little less dressing, and added some caraway seed & a little garlic powder. This cooks up so you can slice it like lasagna--will definitely add this to one of our regular recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t. hayes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
If you like rueben sandwhiches you'll love this, its basically a knife and fork version. different and yummy!! i did take others suggestions and toasted the bread first, i also cut the recipe in half and it was plenty for two people. i will definately make it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Love this recipe! It is a favorite in my family, even my 2 and 3 year olds love it. We're not big fans of corned beef so I substitute turkey and it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I made this for my husband - the Reuben is one of his favorite sandwiches and I had Corned beef to use up. He liked it, it was just ok to me. I'm not a huge sauerkraut or thousand island dressing fan. It was fine, just not great to me. However, I will likely make it again for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Oh man, this was awesome. I pretty much just followed the recipe, but cut it in half. That was just the right amout for my fiance and I. We had a few leftovers but I finished those off for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Just made this with some left over corned beef. I used sauteed cabbage with onion instead of the sauerkraut because I didn't have any at home. It was still delicious and I could imagine how it would have tasted with the kraut. I also used light dressing but regular sour cream. We will have it again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Very good & easy recipe. I like to cook my cornbeef in the crockpot. I've never done the layering, just mix it all up and toss in a baking dish, saving some bread cubes for the top. Have brought to work in a crockpot, toasting some bread crumbs for the top and adding them on later, closer to eating time - turned out really good. Just incase you don't have a stove handy to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Not pretty, but it's tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenMick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
This is a fantastic recipe. I took a couple of suggestions from other reviewers and used marble rye and toasted the bread cubes. I drizzled 4 TBSP. of melted butter over the bread cubes before I toasted them. I kept out 1 cup of the toasted bread cubes and crushed them for the topping. I also drained and rinsed the sauer kraut and squeezed out all of the excess moisure that I could. I layered the ingredients as the recipe stated, but did not drizzle with the melted margarine, as I used the butter when toasting the bread cubes. This turned out as close to a grilled reuben as you can get. My DH loved it and had 3 helpings. The corned beef was expensive $9.99/lb, but if you figure what it would cost to have a good grilled reuben out, it was a bargain. I had the deli cut the corned beef into 1/2" slices so when I got home all I had to do is cube it. A wonderful recipe that will be made many more times for my family and friends. My co-workers are in for a treat at our next pot luck. Thanks for the recipe and the tips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States