Traditional Pita Breads Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Perfect pitas! Wouldn't change a thing about this recipe. Have been searching for a pita recipe through all my traditional cookbooks. Thanks Dennis! My search is over. So simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I used 2 tbsp olive oil instead of the shortening, and "baked" the pita bread two at a time (to avoid running the oven in the summer), covered in my electric skillet for a couple minutes on each side till they got browned spots. They came out read good and disappeared in a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
These turned out really well. Even with half whole wheat flour, they rose nicely and my family all enjoyed them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugar-n-spice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washougal, Washington, USA
Living In: Scio, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I just made these and followed the directions to a T. It was a little waiting game but the result was the freshest, tastiest pitas we've ever tasted; my 6 y.o. ate 2 and wanted more! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Like the previous commenter I used half whole wheat flour for a total of three cups and these came out wonderfully! Better than store bought and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This was really really good, and easy to make!! I will be making these again without a doubt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELALALALA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Nice, simple recipe! I used unsalted butter instead of shortening, and I sprinkled corn meal on the baking sheet which worked out really well. After throwing the first few pitas in the oven I accidentally realized that allowing the individual pitas to rise for a third time (after rolling out) ended up making nice, solid pockets and a firmer outer shell. Definitely tasty and will save this recipe for later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAKEWALLACE1979

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sycamore, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Very easy to prepare and they made great mini pizzas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley Dima

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
Super easy and a hit with the whole fam. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VHanko

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
The trick to puffing up is using your hands not the rolling pin! Don't press them out with your fingers! They will not puff up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

How to Make Pita Bread

See how to make delicious homemade pita bread.

Peppy's Pita Bread

See how to make homemade pita bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States