Traditional Pita Breads Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
These turned out really well. Even with half whole wheat flour, they rose nicely and my family all enjoyed them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugar-n-spice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washougal, Washington, USA
Living In: Scio, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I used 2 tbsp olive oil instead of the shortening, and "baked" the pita bread two at a time (to avoid running the oven in the summer), covered in my electric skillet for a couple minutes on each side till they got browned spots. They came out read good and disappeared in a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I just made these and followed the directions to a T. It was a little waiting game but the result was the freshest, tastiest pitas we've ever tasted; my 6 y.o. ate 2 and wanted more! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
The trick to puffing up is using your hands not the rolling pin! Don't press them out with your fingers! They will not puff up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This was really really good, and easy to make!! I will be making these again without a doubt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELALALALA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I could only get 3 of these to "puff" up in the oven. The others were flat. Taste was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Nice, simple recipe! I used unsalted butter instead of shortening, and I sprinkled corn meal on the baking sheet which worked out really well. After throwing the first few pitas in the oven I accidentally realized that allowing the individual pitas to rise for a third time (after rolling out) ended up making nice, solid pockets and a firmer outer shell. Definitely tasty and will save this recipe for later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAKEWALLACE1979

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sycamore, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
It's delicious, followed all the recipe and the suggestions of flattening by hand. I added onion powder to the flower and other bebe for flavor. Winner recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mare
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
This is a great recipe! I was so impressed by how the pitas turned out and so easy! My brother came home and saw them on the counter as asked if he could try one. He could not believe that I made them! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GEISA
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Great dough. I used 2 tbs of active dry yeast and added 1 tsp of sugar. I made them on the stovetop, on a hot oiled griddle. Taste it great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GEISA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brentwood, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

How to Make Pita Bread

See how to make delicious homemade pita bread.

Peppy's Pita Bread

See how to make homemade pita bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States