Traditional Pita Breads Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
It's delicious, followed all the recipe and the suggestions of flattening by hand. I added onion powder to the flower and other bebe for flavor. Winner recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mare
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
This is a great recipe! I was so impressed by how the pitas turned out and so easy! My brother came home and saw them on the counter as asked if he could try one. He could not believe that I made them! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GEISA
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Great dough. I used 2 tbs of active dry yeast and added 1 tsp of sugar. I made them on the stovetop, on a hot oiled griddle. Taste it great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GEISA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brentwood, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This was so easy and so delicious. I will never buy this from the store again. Thank you so much for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
The trick to puffing up is using your hands not the rolling pin! Don't press them out with your fingers! They will not puff up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I used 2 tbsp olive oil instead of the shortening, and "baked" the pita bread two at a time (to avoid running the oven in the summer), covered in my electric skillet for a couple minutes on each side till they got browned spots. They came out read good and disappeared in a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
Super easy and a hit with the whole fam. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VHanko

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Very easy to prepare and they made great mini pizzas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley Dima

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
This was my first time making pita bread!These were defiantly easy enough to make! mine turned out ok a little to fluffy. I thought I rolled them thin enough but I guess not...:( they tasted Fantastic! Im going to try making them again because im sure it was my fault they didn't turn out as thin as I would have liked! but they sure are yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Perfect pitas! Wouldn't change a thing about this recipe. Have been searching for a pita recipe through all my traditional cookbooks. Thanks Dennis! My search is over. So simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

How to Make Pita Bread

See how to make delicious homemade pita bread.

Peppy's Pita Bread

See how to make homemade pita bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States