Traditional Pita Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This pita bread comes out perfect. I like to use this recipe to use with Hummus for dipping. Love It!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Hollow Rock, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mochi Puffs
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Easy to make, but mine didn't puff. I did replace 1/3 of the flour with whole wheat and that could have been the cause. No problem though, I was just making them to dip into hummus. Delicious! *Edit to update* I made these again without using any whole wheat flour and they puffed! Perfect round puffy pita. I really love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Im in the process of making these- in fact i was just gnawing on the first one to come out. Delicious- not that difficult to make, and i only have a few side notes: skip the cookie sheet- make them directly on the oven rack, just make sure you line up the pita with the slats so it doesn't fall through. Also- use a rolling pin, it makes the dough more consistent than by hand- which i did. Delicious yes- wonky yes. rolling pin might help them to puff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This recipe was really simple, and turned out really great! The first batch hadn't had quite enough time to rise, and didn't poof up at all. I thought the whole recipe was a flop until the next batch came out of the oven perfectly! My friends from Israel said that they were as good as anything they had had back home! I was flattered, and thankful for this recipe : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
I made this to go with a tatziki recipe from the site and it turned out perfect. Followed directions, but I added several teaspoon fulls of dried herbs to add more flavor, and brushed them with butter and herbs before baking. They are flat - no pockets, but that was what I wanted anyway
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by isabella217t
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
i baked twice so they would be crispy like pita chips. yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by isabella217t

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
It was good as pizza dough but wasn't even close to the consistency of pita bread. I was bummed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k861084

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
This is a nice and handy recipe to have on hand. I followed the advice of another reviewer and used half whole wheat flour, and the yeast technique with the kitchenaid mixer. I let these rise for about 45 minutes on their greased baking sheets, but truthfully they could have used a little longer, but I was impatient. It's key to roll your dough very thin - if you are hoping for a traditional pita pocket style bread. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Tasty,excellent,easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
This is a great recipe! I actually made it with half whole wheat flour and half unbleached and it came out perfectly. I rose the rounds right on the greased cookie sheets to save the transfer step. I also mixed the yeast, salt, and whole wheat flour in my kitchenaid first then added the warm water and then the rest of the flour like I do for other breads I make. I find I get better results this way than by dissolving the yeast first in the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Three Lakes, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sheboygan Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States