Traditional Pita Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This pita bread comes out perfect. I like to use this recipe to use with Hummus for dipping. Love It!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Hollow Rock, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mochi Puffs
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Easy to make, but mine didn't puff. I did replace 1/3 of the flour with whole wheat and that could have been the cause. No problem though, I was just making them to dip into hummus. Delicious! *Edit to update* I made these again without using any whole wheat flour and they puffed! Perfect round puffy pita. I really love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Im in the process of making these- in fact i was just gnawing on the first one to come out. Delicious- not that difficult to make, and i only have a few side notes: skip the cookie sheet- make them directly on the oven rack, just make sure you line up the pita with the slats so it doesn't fall through. Also- use a rolling pin, it makes the dough more consistent than by hand- which i did. Delicious yes- wonky yes. rolling pin might help them to puff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This recipe was really simple, and turned out really great! The first batch hadn't had quite enough time to rise, and didn't poof up at all. I thought the whole recipe was a flop until the next batch came out of the oven perfectly! My friends from Israel said that they were as good as anything they had had back home! I was flattered, and thankful for this recipe : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
I made this to go with a tatziki recipe from the site and it turned out perfect. Followed directions, but I added several teaspoon fulls of dried herbs to add more flavor, and brushed them with butter and herbs before baking. They are flat - no pockets, but that was what I wanted anyway
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by isabella217t
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
i baked twice so they would be crispy like pita chips. yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by isabella217t

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
It was good as pizza dough but wasn't even close to the consistency of pita bread. I was bummed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k861084

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
This is a nice and handy recipe to have on hand. I followed the advice of another reviewer and used half whole wheat flour, and the yeast technique with the kitchenaid mixer. I let these rise for about 45 minutes on their greased baking sheets, but truthfully they could have used a little longer, but I was impatient. It's key to roll your dough very thin - if you are hoping for a traditional pita pocket style bread. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Tasty,excellent,easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
This is a great recipe! I actually made it with half whole wheat flour and half unbleached and it came out perfectly. I rose the rounds right on the greased cookie sheets to save the transfer step. I also mixed the yeast, salt, and whole wheat flour in my kitchenaid first then added the warm water and then the rest of the flour like I do for other breads I make. I find I get better results this way than by dissolving the yeast first in the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Three Lakes, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sheboygan Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States