Traditional Pita Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Good flavor but mine did not puff. Still great with hummus though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
A good recipe - tastes great. I must be doing something wrong though because mine didn't puff. Next time I will try rolling the dough thinner. I thought it was thin enough as all of the pitas were much larger than the 5" they were supposed to be rolled to, but I will try again and see! They were still great for dipping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I tried this recipe twice and I don't know if it is my oven, but it just does not work. It comes out like regular bread. I kneeded it, shaped it let it rise, baked it. It didn't come out like pita bread at all. I wonder how this is working for anyone else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
Slight modification. To those who said the bread was bland, it's supposed to be....it's not supposed to get in the way of the flavors of the food. That being said I found that oven baking produced a very dry pita. I fried mine in just enough olive oil to coat the pan for about a minute or two on each side. The hint of olive was exactly what the baked ones were missing. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
it was good but too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
This recipe is a keeper....It works great with spelt. For pita chips.... after they cook, cut into 8 pieces spray with or roll in olive oil and add sugar and cinnamon or whatever else you like on pita chips bake at 375 degrees about 5 min.....yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I've made these twice now, and really enjoy them! The second time I made them I took it even a step further and made pita chips with them. I read the other reviews that said that they ended up more as dinner rolls...if your pitas end up more as rolls and don't "pocket" (like mine did the first time) this probably means you're not kneading the dough enough. I made sure I kneaded the dough for atleast 5-6mins the second time I did it and they turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
These have a good flavor. I will let them cook a little longer next time to achieve that browner look. Nice texture and good flavor. I may try adding some garlic powder to the mix to make a little garlicy flavor pita next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Not at all what pita bread is like. These were large, salty rolls that I honestly couldn't do anything with. I gave two stars because they are edible, but not usable. Not sure where I went wrong, because I followed the recipe closely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This didn't have great flavor. It tasted pretty much like flour and water. I had some trouble with it rising, but that's probably my fault, since our house is pretty cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States