Traditional Pita Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
All of the pitas puffed up nicely for me. I used 1/3 AP flour, 1/3 whole wheat flour and 1/3 spelt flour. I would make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Very easy to make quick and simple. I didn't need to make any adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne
Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
These are great! I ate one when it was still warm and it was delicious. They taste so much better than the ones I buy. My husband loved them. He takes them to work to make pita bread pizzas. In fact Im making them again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I had the same issue as another cook... mine rose but no pocket. It was more like a hard crusted dinner roll. My family didnt complain but I was looking forward to pitas for falafels. Im pretty sure the issue is completely my own fault considering Im new to bread making and when it said roll into 5 inch circles I rolled it like you would to make a round bread loaf >.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
These are good, but next time, I might cut the salt in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
The taste is alright, but I had problems with the rising. I think the instruction should state that you need to grease the tray in which you place the 5" circles for the rise. I had placed mine in an ungreased tray and the dough stuck to the tray and I had a hard time trying to get them out without destroying the circles... :( But other than that, it went ok...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
EASY! Delicious! I would recommend this recipe to all of my friends and family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
My pitas unfortunately didn't puff, but I was able to slice them and turn them into pita chips instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Tastes like baked dough and not every pocket puffed up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I just pulled these out of the oven and every single pita puffed and has a perfect pocket. They are a bit "chewy" but perfect for stuffing with sandwhich fixings, which is what I was looking for. I mixed in my stand mixer and did flip before baking, baked for 6 minutes on greased cookie sheets and had 100% success. I had just made whole wheat pitas the prior day and they were hard and had only partial pockets. Will try 1/2 and 1/2 mix of flour next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States