Traditional Pita Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This pita bread comes out perfect. I like to use this recipe to use with Hummus for dipping. Love It!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Hollow Rock, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mochi Puffs
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Easy to make, but mine didn't puff. I did replace 1/3 of the flour with whole wheat and that could have been the cause. No problem though, I was just making them to dip into hummus. Delicious! *Edit to update* I made these again without using any whole wheat flour and they puffed! Perfect round puffy pita. I really love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
These have a good flavor. I will let them cook a little longer next time to achieve that browner look. Nice texture and good flavor. I may try adding some garlic powder to the mix to make a little garlicy flavor pita next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2009
Slight modification. To those who said the bread was bland, it's supposed to be....it's not supposed to get in the way of the flavors of the food. That being said I found that oven baking produced a very dry pita. I fried mine in just enough olive oil to coat the pan for about a minute or two on each side. The hint of olive was exactly what the baked ones were missing. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
This recipe is a keeper....It works great with spelt. For pita chips.... after they cook, cut into 8 pieces spray with or roll in olive oil and add sugar and cinnamon or whatever else you like on pita chips bake at 375 degrees about 5 min.....yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
This was great. The taste and texture was just like store-bought or restaurant pita. Just be sure not to make them too thick as I did with a couple of mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
I loved this. The texture and taste were great. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
This is a great recipe! I actually made it with half whole wheat flour and half unbleached and it came out perfectly. I rose the rounds right on the greased cookie sheets to save the transfer step. I also mixed the yeast, salt, and whole wheat flour in my kitchenaid first then added the warm water and then the rest of the flour like I do for other breads I make. I find I get better results this way than by dissolving the yeast first in the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Three Lakes, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sheboygan Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This recipe was really simple, and turned out really great! The first batch hadn't had quite enough time to rise, and didn't poof up at all. I thought the whole recipe was a flop until the next batch came out of the oven perfectly! My friends from Israel said that they were as good as anything they had had back home! I was flattered, and thankful for this recipe : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Tasty,excellent,easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States