Traditional Pita Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I've made these twice now, and really enjoy them! The second time I made them I took it even a step further and made pita chips with them. I read the other reviews that said that they ended up more as dinner rolls...if your pitas end up more as rolls and don't "pocket" (like mine did the first time) this probably means you're not kneading the dough enough. I made sure I kneaded the dough for atleast 5-6mins the second time I did it and they turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Here's the secret to a traditional pita pocket: fast, hot baking. Put a metal baking sheet in the oven while it's preheating. Roll or pound the kneaded dough into flat pitas (1/4 in. thick is a good ballpark), do NOT let rise. Carefully place them on the hot baking sheet (do not remove sheet from oven) and bake for 3-5 minutes. The hot metal will "shock" the dough into forming air bubbles, which will eventually grow together into a large air pocket. Keep checking them after 3 minutes and remove when they grow to a size you like. If they get too balloon-like, take them out and flatten them with a spatula--NOT YOUR HAND! They are full of 500 degree air! This is a great simple dough recipe. You can replace the white flour with wheat flour and still get beautiful pockets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
This is a great recipe! I actually made it with half whole wheat flour and half unbleached and it came out perfectly. I rose the rounds right on the greased cookie sheets to save the transfer step. I also mixed the yeast, salt, and whole wheat flour in my kitchenaid first then added the warm water and then the rest of the flour like I do for other breads I make. I find I get better results this way than by dissolving the yeast first in the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Three Lakes, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sheboygan Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
This recipe was ok, but not nearly as good or as much like the real thing as Peppy's Pita Bread found on this site. I added a dash of garlic and onion powders for flavor and it would have been very bland without it. I also found this recipe to be rather "doughy", which does not seem reminscent of pita bread to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAYLORBUNCH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
I listened to the users who said this turns out nothing like pita but is good for a quick dinner roll recipe hoping to make some easy rolls. I follwed the directions exactly, and it made wonderful pita bread. I stuffed it with an egyptian liver dish called Kibda and it soaked up the juices nicely. My husband says its just like how they serve it in Egypt. So thanks for a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
Slight modification. To those who said the bread was bland, it's supposed to be....it's not supposed to get in the way of the flavors of the food. That being said I found that oven baking produced a very dry pita. I fried mine in just enough olive oil to coat the pan for about a minute or two on each side. The hint of olive was exactly what the baked ones were missing. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
This was great. The taste and texture was just like store-bought or restaurant pita. Just be sure not to make them too thick as I did with a couple of mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mochi Puffs
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Easy to make, but mine didn't puff. I did replace 1/3 of the flour with whole wheat and that could have been the cause. No problem though, I was just making them to dip into hummus. Delicious! *Edit to update* I made these again without using any whole wheat flour and they puffed! Perfect round puffy pita. I really love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
I loved this. The texture and taste were great. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Im in the process of making these- in fact i was just gnawing on the first one to come out. Delicious- not that difficult to make, and i only have a few side notes: skip the cookie sheet- make them directly on the oven rack, just make sure you line up the pita with the slats so it doesn't fall through. Also- use a rolling pin, it makes the dough more consistent than by hand- which i did. Delicious yes- wonky yes. rolling pin might help them to puff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States