Traditional Pita Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
I loved this. The texture and taste were great. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
This was great. The taste and texture was just like store-bought or restaurant pita. Just be sure not to make them too thick as I did with a couple of mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
This recipe was ok, but not nearly as good or as much like the real thing as Peppy's Pita Bread found on this site. I added a dash of garlic and onion powders for flavor and it would have been very bland without it. I also found this recipe to be rather "doughy", which does not seem reminscent of pita bread to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAYLORBUNCH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
I've never made pita bread at home before, even though I love to eat it at other places. This recipe did not dissapoint me, but it wasn't one that would be in a list of favorites, either. However, it did make a lovely turkey and cheese sandwich, so thank you. I will be enjoying the bread in the coming days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
This recipe did make some good rolls, butr there is NO way I would ever call this "pita bread" It is FAR from being any kind of pita. It came out like a thick dinner roll, it wasnt flat, there was no air in the middle seperating the insides, it doesnt even look like pita bread. I dont know how the picture being used was created from this recipe. It doenst even LOOK like that at all. I wont be using this recipe again unless I want some super easy rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAPPYCOWSMMMCHEESE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Emeryville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
Good pita bread - I had to turn them while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
Be sure to roll it thin enough or it will taste like dinner rolls. GREAT for dipping though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
I listened to the users who said this turns out nothing like pita but is good for a quick dinner roll recipe hoping to make some easy rolls. I follwed the directions exactly, and it made wonderful pita bread. I stuffed it with an egyptian liver dish called Kibda and it soaked up the juices nicely. My husband says its just like how they serve it in Egypt. So thanks for a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
This is a great recipe! I actually made it with half whole wheat flour and half unbleached and it came out perfectly. I rose the rounds right on the greased cookie sheets to save the transfer step. I also mixed the yeast, salt, and whole wheat flour in my kitchenaid first then added the warm water and then the rest of the flour like I do for other breads I make. I find I get better results this way than by dissolving the yeast first in the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Three Lakes, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sheboygan Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Tasty,excellent,easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States