Traditional Pita Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
I was disappointed - I found that allowing more than 45 minutes for the dough to rise, more like 3 hours, worked for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
This was very good and I will make it again. I did find it to be a little salty so I will reduce it by 1/2. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I substituted white whole wheat flour for all of the all-purpose flour, and it worked great. Whole wheat flour does require more rising time, so I let the rolled-out pitas rise for about an hour. I cooked half the pitas per the directions, and put the remaining 3 dough balls in the fridge wrapped in plastic. The following day I rolled them out with a rolling pin and cooked them in a hot, ungreased cast iron skillet. These were even better! Just like soft flatbread, delicious dipped in hummus. Thanks for this fun recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I made this just this morning and instead of baking I fried it in a bit of olive oil. I wasn't interested in a pocket because they are for dipping but a couple of them did produce pockets. So much tastier then anything I've ever bought and so quick to make. I will never buy store bought again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
The pitas were fine. Mine bubbled up ok (I had the pockets). I made home made gyro meat and when I made the gyros with this pita bread, the bread couldn't stay together. I will try these again, buy may try them in the frying pan with olive oil next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jjm1982

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Lenox, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Loved this recipe. The pitas all made pockets. It was super easy, which was what I wanted. I also added a squirt of honey. Make sure you put them on a well-floured surface to rise! My first batch absorbed the little bit of flour that was under them and glued themselves to the table. Those became some tasty pita chips though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
awesome! my yemeni family loved it! we were able to use this recipe for dipping in hummus and foul/fasulia and for cut in half and opened for falafel sandwiches! the kneading is an important part for the texture of the bread i kneaded it for about 5-7 minutes because thats what my mother in law does when she makes her traditional breads and it turned out great..to rise the dough i put a pot of just boiled water in the bottom rack of my oven and put the covered dough on baking sheets on the top rack,(this is a trick from my grandmother). overall this was wonderful and i will be making it over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I was very happy with the way these turned out. The dough was a little sticky, so I had to add roughly 1/3 cup more flour to make it workable, but it was a very easy recipe. I served it with hummus and a cucumber salad my friend had made, and it worked very well. About half of my pita puffed and pocketed, and I realized that the ones I forgot to flip before baking were the ones that puffed, so now I know how to make American pita pockets, too! I will be making these again soon, my daughter adores them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missivy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
So simple, quick and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPRECORD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Turned out great. Tasted delicious in tzatziki. Quick & easy. I used some whole wheat flour. Next time I will add herbs too... oregano maybe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States