Traditional Pita Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I've made this recipe 3 times. It's quickly become a family fave. The only problem with them is that they disappear far too quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Here's the secret to a traditional pita pocket: fast, hot baking. Put a metal baking sheet in the oven while it's preheating. Roll or pound the kneaded dough into flat pitas (1/4 in. thick is a good ballpark), do NOT let rise. Carefully place them on the hot baking sheet (do not remove sheet from oven) and bake for 3-5 minutes. The hot metal will "shock" the dough into forming air bubbles, which will eventually grow together into a large air pocket. Keep checking them after 3 minutes and remove when they grow to a size you like. If they get too balloon-like, take them out and flatten them with a spatula--NOT YOUR HAND! They are full of 500 degree air! This is a great simple dough recipe. You can replace the white flour with wheat flour and still get beautiful pockets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Delicious!! This is my first time making pita breads, and it actually turned out great! It doesn't need any more ingredients at all. Will keep this recipe. However, it's good baked. Frying is another thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Delicious and puffed up perfectly for me. Wish it was a little thinner, but it was so delicious that I didn't mind the thicker pockets. I used mine for hummus and flattened a few, topped with pizza sauce, cheese and toppings and made an amazing pizza dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
So easy to make and very yummy! Mine were a little thick, so I think I would roll it a bit thinner next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCpastorswife

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I made this once and i really liked it, they were perfect. Some puffed up and other didnt, is this good or bad. Are they supposed to puff up?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Love this recipe, I am gluten free and just used my favorite flour blend from betterbatter and followed the directions, perfecto! I can yummy pocket sandwiches again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I've made this recipe dozens of times now, and everyone who has tried them loves them! As other reviewers have said, if you want them to puff properly, be sure to knead the dough as long as the recipe directs (and a little extra doesn't seem to hurt) and roll very thin. I often slice them and top them with cream cheese, a cucumber slice, and a slice of hard-boiled egg for a quick snack my whole family loves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Had a lovely crust and a dense texture inside. My husband enjoyed these alongside Peppy's recipe. Both are good - just different. I tried the tip to pan fry them but it didn't work out for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Very good. Just what I was looking for - and these take no time to make at all! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Displaying results 21-30 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States