Traditional Osso Buco Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I tried this recipe as written the first time and I have to admit it was very good, however when I mentioned it to a friend of Italian ancestry he suggested instead of butter, I brown the shanks in pancetta fat. I chopped up about a 1/4 lb. of pancetta, fried it, removed it from the pan, drained off all but about 2 tbls of the fat and browned the shanks. I removed the shanks and used the same fat to saute the onions, added the wine and deglazed the pan. I added the previously fried pancetta with the other ingredients. I know it's not as healthy but it was absolutely delicious. The one thing he told me was, do not subsitute bacon, it has to be pancetta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
233 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
This has to be one of the best osso i have eaten, even better than some that I have had at Italian restaurants. I made it exactly as the recipe describes for a family dinner and everyone wanted the recipe. I have tried others out there but none as delicious as this. Hmmm I have to admit the meat basically melts in your mouth. This definitly will become a family favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
210 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
An excellent recipe by itself. Like others, I doctored a bit with some herbs like bay leaf and herbs d'province. The best advice I can offer to really enhance the flavors is to prepare this a day ahead of time, let it cool slowly, refrigerate overnight and warm at 325 for an hour, tightly sealed. This always works for me with dishes that include bone with marrow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
This recipe is so good and so easy, you are crazy not to make this! I had to substitute red wine, but still excellent. I have made this dish several ways, but this recipe is a combination of all the best attributes of the others. Good with rissoto or pasta! Just tell your butcher that you want a veal shank prepped for osso buco. You will probably get three pieces from a shank.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
I loved this recipe, but I browned the shanks on both sides in a skillet then transferred them to a crockpot and cooked them for @ 8 hrs. it was so tender!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I must be in the minority after looking at the ratings for this dish.... I usually love Osso Bucco, but after making this 2x, it has a very different flavor that I just didn't care for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
What a tasty dish!!! The white wine is definately key and as advised I added (3 tbs) Italian herbs. I also decided to add (for 6) half a small can of tomatoe paste for the tomatoe sauce effect. The advise of cooking ahead and letting it set for a day is also a good idea. As Italian red sauces always taste better the next day. Note: I am in Europe and had a hard time finding the specified veal chop and I ended up with a cut that was more intended for stew. But, even though the result was a stew, it was abasolutley delicious. I cant wait to make it again with or without the chops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
This is a very good recipe. The only problem is that it isn't actually a "Traditional" ossobuco. The Italians weren't introduced to tomatoes until after this recipe had been invented.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
AMAZING recipe that any Italian will be proud to serve! I even used the wrong cut of meat (could only find boneless veal meant for stew) but it did not affect how fast this meal was devoured. Just make sure that the cut is fatty or you will loose the flavor. I doubled the garlic, added one can small can of tomatoe puree and 4 tbs of Italian Seasoning Mix to suit my tastes and served with penne pasta. I cant wait to make this again, it was that good. Yum:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerstinaurora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Antwerp, Antwerpen, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
Beautiful. This is now a favourite for me. I made it as per the instructions and it worked out perfectly. First time I've actually had Osso Buco and definitely my first attempt at cooking it, and it wasn't hard to do. My wife loved it as well and we will do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hans Speek

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Shepparton, Victoria, Australia
Living In: Robina, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Osso Bucco

Learn how to make this classic, slow-braised, northern Italian veal shank.

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Traditional Indiana Breaded Tenderloin

Watch how to make this sandwich that is a favorite of Indiana residents.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States