Traditional Osso Buco Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
Never thought I would ever make this dish at home, but I saw the veal shanks at the grocery store, and I was compelled to try it! Saw this simple recipe and got to it! Took out the celery and carrots and used mushrooms instead, adding at the very end. Turned out amazing. Thanks so much I feel like a REAL home cook now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcrobello
Home Town: Mililani, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Very Good! I added some oregano in with the lemon mix. This was very good. After cooking my onions and garlic i put everything in the slow cooker on low for 8 hrs. I served this over "Basic microwave risotto" also an AR recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley_S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Holy cow! Such a mouth-watering dish. I stayed true to all instructions, but one. I roasted the veal in my earthen lidded dish instead of simmering on the stovetop. Excellent result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
This was an easy and excellent recipe. My family really enjoyed it. I think the last ingredients made a difference in the taste. I did make one change. I used chicken stock instead of beef stock because that was what I had on hand. My daughter commented, "that gravy was s-o-o-o good, I didn't need the meat".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
i used beef shank and chicken broth instead of veal and beef stock, also added some basil and thyme still tastes great and the house smelled so good when i'm cooking it. didn't quite like the lemon zest but I think it depends on personal taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Used red wine and half the amount of butter. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie P

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
This is better than most restaurants!!! We knew we were having the leftovers later and didn't want the parsley/garlic/zest cooked in, so we sprinkled it on top. As with the wine, it is essential to the awesomeness of this dish. We braised the shanks, then used the crockpot for the cooking. It would work well with any meat and next we're using London Broil. This is a great dish to serve guests. It's so simple and simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Made this for dinner tonight and then after cooking it for two hours, I put it in the fridge for tomorrow night! Decided that the advice of others..."better the next day" was worth the wait. My whole house smelled YUMMO so I'm sure it'll be a hit and I don't have to wait to give it 5 stars. ps. Made tomorrow night's dinner tonight for the last minute change. Tamale Casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trixxiep

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This dish was amazing. My husband couldn't believe I cooked it! It's actually better than some osso buco we've had at expensive celebrity restaurants. Thanks for a great meal tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Amazing, i have never had a dish with as much flavor or enjoyed consuming as much as i did with this dish.......Bux-Bristol,Tn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Osso Bucco

Learn how to make this classic, slow-braised, northern Italian veal shank.

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Traditional Indiana Breaded Tenderloin

Watch how to make this sandwich that is a favorite of Indiana residents.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States