Traditional Osso Buco Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I love this recipe! It is deceptively easy and delicious. I served it over Israeli Cous Cous which was perfect cause the sauce on the pasta is an entire other aspect of the meal that it would be a shame to miss out on! Some other little pasta like orzo would be equally great. I was trying to impress a guy I like who also happens to be an Italian Chef. I was pretty intimidated but this recipe was perfect and he loved it! I changed it up just a bit cause I prefer not to eat veal. Instead I used Lamb Shank. Next time I will ask the butcher for pieces that are a little less fatty, but other than that it was so good! This is now for sure my go to recipe for when I want to impress a dinner guest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Add a few Italian herbs and spices to the meat and the sauce and this is a 5-star dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Slow cooker version: I used beef shanks instead of veal. Drained the liquid from the diced tomatoes (I used canned whole tomatoes) and used 1/3 cup less liquid (water instead of beef stock). Let 'er rip for 8 hours. Soft, tender, delicious (and cheap!). Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
One of the best things I ever made. I planned to follow the recipe exactly but of course I did not. I didn't have veal shanks so I used beef short ribs. I added a diced celery stalk and doubled the garlic. I also put in a whole can of beef broth. It was quite soupy at first so the meat stewed rather than braised. but the end result was a wonderfully flavorful gravy. Also I cooked it much longer that recommended - almost 4 hours - I wanted very tender meat and maybe beef needs more time than veal I will be making this again. It is not too difficult and the result was pretty fabulous. Oh and I did not have fresh parsley for the gremolata so I just put a little dried parsley in as it cooked. Next time I will definitely make the gremolata. It sounds great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Since I've never made or eaten Osso Buco before, I have nothing to compare it to .. but, it's really delicious. The meat is so tender and the vegetables are perfectly cooked and seasoned. I made it last night for tonight since so many had said it is better the next day. I served it with orzo mixed with basil and grated fresh parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla Semola

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Wow this was definitely a restaurant quality dinner!! The supermarket had no veal shanks, so I took a chance and used veal shoulder, which is a cheaper and sometimes tough cut of meat. Since I knew it was going to be simmered I thought why not?! It was absolutely delicious. I followed the recipe exactly and the meat was so tender it could have been cut with a fork. The sauce was absolutely perfect and it smelled and looked delicious cooking. Next time I may add some tomato paste to the sauce since my husband likes a thicker sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
This is Yummy! I made this with Angus stew meat cut small ,Cooked as directed. The next day I put it in the crock pot on low for 3 hours on low. Made a purfect after church meal. Served with Rice. Very tender and the sauce is delectable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RISA COATS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe; the sauce was extraordinary. I did use chicken broth instead of beef broth. Think I will try it with chicken next time, as veal shanks are so expensive and, often, hard to find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarendon Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by metread
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Worth every minute of time and effort. Stellar meal. I strongly recommend seasoning the meat prior to browning it. It makes a huge difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by metread

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pineville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
served it over over sundried tomato polenta with some redpepper flakes---yummy and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Osso Bucco

Learn how to make this classic, slow-braised, northern Italian veal shank.

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Traditional Indiana Breaded Tenderloin

Watch how to make this sandwich that is a favorite of Indiana residents.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States