Traditional Osso Buco Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by rn4flight
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
My husband and I really enjoyed this dinner. It is easy to make. I served it with some fresh pasta. Yum. (my husband doesn't even care for veal but loved this)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I think this is a wonderful base to start with for Osso Buco. It was delicious but not as good as some I have had. Feel free to play with the ingredients if you have the urge. I think next time I will use red wine and less tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dr. Hammtabulous

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
WOW! Never had this dish before but decided to give it a try. I followed the recipe pretty much to the tee. I did salt/pepper before the flour. I used a deep dish castiron with a lid and then put it on the oven. I cooked bacon and used the grease from the bacon along with some butter for the fat. I was having a craving for a BLT, thus the bacon fat! Cooked it for about 2 hours and then shut off and left on the stove to cool. Was going to put into the refrig for overnight and eat tomorrow night. Had leftover salmon scheduled for tonight. Hubby came home, took one smell and decided he needed this for dinner. Added two tsps of tomato paste to thicken the gravy a tad bit, put back in the oven for about 45 min and served with garlic roasted mashed potatoes. I am very impressed with this and my ability to pull it off! Hubby loved it and decided that salmon leftovers will be going for his lunch tomorrow and he wants "Osso Buco" leftovers for dinner tomorrow night. His only suggestions for improvement! Double the recipe so he can have it for lunch the next day and leftovers the next night! That is the ultimate compliment! Deserves more then five stars! Very easy to prepare and simple household ingredents that are usually available in every kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
A very simple and elegant dish. It was loved by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Very very yummy. I was only able to find beef shank, not veal. So I had to cook it 3 hours to get the "fall off the bone" tenderness that I wanted. But well worth it! Next time, I will try it in the slow cooker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
So good! I used beef shanks, so I had to cook them a bit longer - maybe 20 extra minutes - before they were tender. Only other changes were to season the flour with pepper and add more carrots - 3 medium in all. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Amazing! I added Italian herbs, bay leaf and salt and pepper to the flour. The veal was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Came out tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This was really good. I used Venison shanks instead of Veal. Also, used Red and White wine becasue I didn't have enough of either one. Very delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Delicous! Wanted something different & this was a hit with my family. Served it with risotto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Osso Bucco

Learn how to make this classic, slow-braised, northern Italian veal shank.

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Traditional Indiana Breaded Tenderloin

Watch how to make this sandwich that is a favorite of Indiana residents.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States