Traditional Osso Buco Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
A very simple and elegant dish. It was loved by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Very very yummy. I was only able to find beef shank, not veal. So I had to cook it 3 hours to get the "fall off the bone" tenderness that I wanted. But well worth it! Next time, I will try it in the slow cooker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
So good! I used beef shanks, so I had to cook them a bit longer - maybe 20 extra minutes - before they were tender. Only other changes were to season the flour with pepper and add more carrots - 3 medium in all. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Amazing! I added Italian herbs, bay leaf and salt and pepper to the flour. The veal was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Came out tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This was really good. I used Venison shanks instead of Veal. Also, used Red and White wine becasue I didn't have enough of either one. Very delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Delicous! Wanted something different & this was a hit with my family. Served it with risotto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
This recipe was delicious. I couldn't get the veal shanks, so substituted approx. 3 lbs. of beef short ribs. I had the butcher cut them into 2-3 inch pieces. The recipe worked perfectly and served 4 people. The meat was sooo tender. I served it over orzo. This will become a regular for us. Susan H
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I've made this recipe now 4 times and every time I get the same reaction.. WOW.. flavour is intense, especially the 2nd day.. a favourite in the house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I love this recipe! It is deceptively easy and delicious. I served it over Israeli Cous Cous which was perfect cause the sauce on the pasta is an entire other aspect of the meal that it would be a shame to miss out on! Some other little pasta like orzo would be equally great. I was trying to impress a guy I like who also happens to be an Italian Chef. I was pretty intimidated but this recipe was perfect and he loved it! I changed it up just a bit cause I prefer not to eat veal. Instead I used Lamb Shank. Next time I will ask the butcher for pieces that are a little less fatty, but other than that it was so good! This is now for sure my go to recipe for when I want to impress a dinner guest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Osso Bucco

Learn how to make this classic, slow-braised, northern Italian veal shank.

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Traditional Indiana Breaded Tenderloin

Watch how to make this sandwich that is a favorite of Indiana residents.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States