Traditional Osso Buco Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I cannot describe how good this was! The only change I made was I used red wine instead of white (it was all I had) I Used 1 cup each of finely diced onion carrot and celery(needed to use them up) and a little extra garlic . Instead of cooking it on the stove top I put it in the crockpot....worked wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixiestix

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I am not a fan of Osso Buco... This recipe is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
WONDERFUL. My boyfriend loved it as well. Could not find veal shanks. Used veal stew cuts instead. Tasted fine. Added italian seasoning like others suggested. Added half a small can of tomato paste like others suggested. I love it alone, but it also tastes good over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Never had this dish before and I wasn't disappointed with it - I think the leftovers had an even better flavor. This was my first time cooking with veal shank and perhaps I just don't know what to look for, but the amount of fat/grease in the finished dish was considerable. I'd hate to ditch the recipe because of the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
This is a great recipe! I made this for my husband's birthday, and the only substitute I made because I didn't have beef broth handy. After a little research, I used Better than Bouillon vegetable broth + water + a dash of Worchestire sauce and it came out lovely! I served this with Suzy's Mashed Red Potatoes, broiled asparagus and the Super Easy Spinach and Red Pepper Salad (the first and last from the site). A very memorable dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Fantastic! Made this several times - first with the shanks, but they are so expensive I tried it again with veal stew meat. Not quite as good because you don't get the marrow but still delish! Next time, I'm going to add some bones ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Excellent but more salt and flavoring needed -- Still very, very good! Suggest: 1 teaspoon salt, 1/4 tsp pepper, jalepeno juice (to taste); I used a few drops and Lawry's Seasoning (1/2 tsp). Also, I had to cook about 1/2 hour longer for the meat to soften.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Pretty good flavors - maybe I am just not as big a fan of osso bucco as I thought - it was just a little more oily and fatty than I expected. However, I did use lamb and not veal, so very possible that was the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
My family loved it. I served the day after I made it and it was absolutely fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Islip Terrace, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Lovely recipe. I would make again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Newbirth461

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Osso Bucco

Learn how to make this classic, slow-braised, northern Italian veal shank.

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Traditional Indiana Breaded Tenderloin

Watch how to make this sandwich that is a favorite of Indiana residents.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States