Traditional Osso Buco Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Never had this dish before and I wasn't disappointed with it - I think the leftovers had an even better flavor. This was my first time cooking with veal shank and perhaps I just don't know what to look for, but the amount of fat/grease in the finished dish was considerable. I'd hate to ditch the recipe because of the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
This is a great recipe! I made this for my husband's birthday, and the only substitute I made because I didn't have beef broth handy. After a little research, I used Better than Bouillon vegetable broth + water + a dash of Worchestire sauce and it came out lovely! I served this with Suzy's Mashed Red Potatoes, broiled asparagus and the Super Easy Spinach and Red Pepper Salad (the first and last from the site). A very memorable dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Fantastic! Made this several times - first with the shanks, but they are so expensive I tried it again with veal stew meat. Not quite as good because you don't get the marrow but still delish! Next time, I'm going to add some bones ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Excellent but more salt and flavoring needed -- Still very, very good! Suggest: 1 teaspoon salt, 1/4 tsp pepper, jalepeno juice (to taste); I used a few drops and Lawry's Seasoning (1/2 tsp). Also, I had to cook about 1/2 hour longer for the meat to soften.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Pretty good flavors - maybe I am just not as big a fan of osso bucco as I thought - it was just a little more oily and fatty than I expected. However, I did use lamb and not veal, so very possible that was the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
My family loved it. I served the day after I made it and it was absolutely fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Islip Terrace, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Lovely recipe. I would make again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Newbirth461

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rn4flight
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
My husband and I really enjoyed this dinner. It is easy to make. I served it with some fresh pasta. Yum. (my husband doesn't even care for veal but loved this)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I think this is a wonderful base to start with for Osso Buco. It was delicious but not as good as some I have had. Feel free to play with the ingredients if you have the urge. I think next time I will use red wine and less tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dr. Hammtabulous

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
WOW! Never had this dish before but decided to give it a try. I followed the recipe pretty much to the tee. I did salt/pepper before the flour. I used a deep dish castiron with a lid and then put it on the oven. I cooked bacon and used the grease from the bacon along with some butter for the fat. I was having a craving for a BLT, thus the bacon fat! Cooked it for about 2 hours and then shut off and left on the stove to cool. Was going to put into the refrig for overnight and eat tomorrow night. Had leftover salmon scheduled for tonight. Hubby came home, took one smell and decided he needed this for dinner. Added two tsps of tomato paste to thicken the gravy a tad bit, put back in the oven for about 45 min and served with garlic roasted mashed potatoes. I am very impressed with this and my ability to pull it off! Hubby loved it and decided that salmon leftovers will be going for his lunch tomorrow and he wants "Osso Buco" leftovers for dinner tomorrow night. His only suggestions for improvement! Double the recipe so he can have it for lunch the next day and leftovers the next night! That is the ultimate compliment! Deserves more then five stars! Very easy to prepare and simple household ingredents that are usually available in every kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Osso Bucco

Learn how to make this classic, slow-braised, northern Italian veal shank.

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Traditional Indiana Breaded Tenderloin

Watch how to make this sandwich that is a favorite of Indiana residents.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States