Traditional Osso Buco Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Just served and inhaled this dinner for my husbands birthday dinner and let me just say "Fantastic !" And thats coming from an ok cook !!!! We dined on OssoBuco in a restaurant on Arthur Ave this past weekend which is in The Little Italy section of the Bronx, NY. .True classic Italian restaurants with authentic , delicious food.I had to try this for its my husbands favorite dish.So happy I found this recipe!!,OMG it was as good as what we had in the restaurant !!!!We all kept saying this is sooooo good:) Slow cooked for hours in a heavy cast iron pot and served with gnocci, just like in the restaurant!!!The sauce and meat were delicious and so tender and juicy!,plus the house smelled awesome.Comfort food so yummy and your guests will be impressed too!!! A KEEPER and repeat again and again for sure :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly and it just didn't turn out for me. The meat tasted like it needed to cook an hour or two more. Not sure what I did wrong, but I did not like this one that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARAB1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Great recipe for veal shanks. Did not change a thing. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
It was just OK for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I don't really care for osso bucco in general, but when i made this for my husband, he loved it! I froze the leftovers and he had it again 2 weeks later and said it was still amazing. He rarely raves about my cooking that way. A recipe that gets a rave from my husband has to be worth 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
I "Simon-and-Garfunkled" this recipe with some parsley, sage, rosemary and thyme then stayed true to the rest of the recipe ... DEEE-LISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Bolton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I'm a huge osso buco fan and decided to try out this recipe. It lacked the richness I'm used to. I lightly seasoned with s & p as I went because the dish lacked flavor. I followed the advice of others and added salt and pepper to my flour. I also used 4 ounces of bacon, (finely chopped and rendered) and used it to saute the onions and carrots in. I used red wine instead of white and added bayleaf and fresh rosemary. I think the canned tomatoes left the sauce too thin. Adding tomato paste would be helpful and a richer beef stock. The gremolata is a must to add in at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
First time making Osso Buco and I choose this recipe. first let me say that I followed the recipe as is and It was utterly Delicious!!! I made a gremolata to accompany this dish which was really a hit. I love this recipe and would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I cannot describe how good this was! The only change I made was I used red wine instead of white (it was all I had) I Used 1 cup each of finely diced onion carrot and celery(needed to use them up) and a little extra garlic . Instead of cooking it on the stove top I put it in the crockpot....worked wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixiestix

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I am not a fan of Osso Buco... This recipe is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Osso Bucco

Learn how to make this classic, slow-braised, northern Italian veal shank.

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Traditional Indiana Breaded Tenderloin

Watch how to make this sandwich that is a favorite of Indiana residents.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States