Traditional Osso Buco Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 3, 2012
I "Simon-and-Garfunkled" this recipe with some parsley, sage, rosemary and thyme then stayed true to the rest of the recipe ... DEEE-LISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Bolton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I'm a huge osso buco fan and decided to try out this recipe. It lacked the richness I'm used to. I lightly seasoned with s & p as I went because the dish lacked flavor. I followed the advice of others and added salt and pepper to my flour. I also used 4 ounces of bacon, (finely chopped and rendered) and used it to saute the onions and carrots in. I used red wine instead of white and added bayleaf and fresh rosemary. I think the canned tomatoes left the sauce too thin. Adding tomato paste would be helpful and a richer beef stock. The gremolata is a must to add in at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
First time making Osso Buco and I choose this recipe. first let me say that I followed the recipe as is and It was utterly Delicious!!! I made a gremolata to accompany this dish which was really a hit. I love this recipe and would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I cannot describe how good this was! The only change I made was I used red wine instead of white (it was all I had) I Used 1 cup each of finely diced onion carrot and celery(needed to use them up) and a little extra garlic . Instead of cooking it on the stove top I put it in the crockpot....worked wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixiestix

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I am not a fan of Osso Buco... This recipe is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
WONDERFUL. My boyfriend loved it as well. Could not find veal shanks. Used veal stew cuts instead. Tasted fine. Added italian seasoning like others suggested. Added half a small can of tomato paste like others suggested. I love it alone, but it also tastes good over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Never had this dish before and I wasn't disappointed with it - I think the leftovers had an even better flavor. This was my first time cooking with veal shank and perhaps I just don't know what to look for, but the amount of fat/grease in the finished dish was considerable. I'd hate to ditch the recipe because of the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
This is a great recipe! I made this for my husband's birthday, and the only substitute I made because I didn't have beef broth handy. After a little research, I used Better than Bouillon vegetable broth + water + a dash of Worchestire sauce and it came out lovely! I served this with Suzy's Mashed Red Potatoes, broiled asparagus and the Super Easy Spinach and Red Pepper Salad (the first and last from the site). A very memorable dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Fantastic! Made this several times - first with the shanks, but they are so expensive I tried it again with veal stew meat. Not quite as good because you don't get the marrow but still delish! Next time, I'm going to add some bones ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Excellent but more salt and flavoring needed -- Still very, very good! Suggest: 1 teaspoon salt, 1/4 tsp pepper, jalepeno juice (to taste); I used a few drops and Lawry's Seasoning (1/2 tsp). Also, I had to cook about 1/2 hour longer for the meat to soften.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Osso Bucco

Learn how to make this classic, slow-braised, northern Italian veal shank.

Traditional Indiana Breaded Tenderloin

Watch how to make this sandwich that is a favorite of Indiana residents.

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States