Traditional Osso Buco Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I totally recommend this recipe. The gremolata at the end is a must. Served with spaghetti it was a resounding success with everyone wanting seconds. Make sure you make enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
My husband said it was better than having it at a restaurant! Nothing needs to be changed on this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
I followed the recipe, with the exception of using veal stew meat instead. I didn't cook the entire meal for the duration recommended since the meat had no bones in it. Maybe that's where I went wrong as the meat was so chewy and the overall flavor was not appetizing to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
We loved this recipe! I salt and peppered the veal and then floured and seared it as suggested. It was an elegant, easy and delicious meal. We had a great bottle of wine, some asparagus and pasta to go with it. Fantastic! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alice, Texas, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Made exactly as recipe stated. This is very elegant and so, so good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Did not care for it. Very plain taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BabyChops

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pettyh
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
This is absolutely delicious. I did make a couple changes. 1) I minced the onion, carrot, celery, and garlic. I don't think Osso Buco was meant to have whole veggies; they are just supposed to form the sauce. I could be wrong, but this has been the norm in my experience thus far. 2) I seasoned the veal shanks with salt and pepper before dredging in flour. 3) I added 1/4 t dried thyme, 1/4 t dried basil, and 1/4 t dried parsley before allowing to simmer. 4) Finally, I cooked this in the oven at 300 for 2.5 hours. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
This was very good, but was just missing something. I think next time some thyme and Bay leaves would help it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
This was absolutely wonderful. My husband requested Osso Bucco for his birthday today 2/26/13. With that said, I prepared this recipe for 14 people. I read all the reviews first and made a couple of changes. First, I rendered pancetta and seared off my salt/peppered/ flour dusted veal shanks in the fat. Scrapped the bottom of pan, hit it with the garlic and onion and cooked. Deglazed the pots with the white wine. I added italian seasoning through the cooking process and salt and pepper. I made this the day before so this dish could rest overnight and become more flavorful. Dinner was at 5:30pm, I took osso bucco out of the frig around 1pm and let it come to room temp for about an hour, put on low and let simmer until dinner time. Meat was fall off the bone tender and the sauce was wonderful. I have leftover sauce with carrots that I will probably throw some pasta into and make a nice soup. One thing I will do next time is dredge the veal in flour in lieu of dusting. This will help to thicken the sauce a little more though you don't want this to be stew like. The cooking time is off. Should be about 2 hrs the night before and then three hours the next day. Also, served this with a parmesan risotto and good italian bread. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I must be in the minority after looking at the ratings for this dish.... I usually love Osso Bucco, but after making this 2x, it has a very different flavor that I just didn't care for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Osso Bucco

Learn how to make this classic, slow-braised, northern Italian veal shank.

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Traditional Indiana Breaded Tenderloin

Watch how to make this sandwich that is a favorite of Indiana residents.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States