Traditional Osso Buco Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
I made this for Valentine's Day dinner and we loved it. It was a nice treat at home vs. going out on such a busy night. It was an easy recipe to prepare and freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Inez Quinn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Russell, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
This was my first attempt making osso buco. My husband orders it at restaurants whenever he sees it on the menu, it's his favorite. I used beef shanks and took a couple of suggestions from other reviewers (seasoning the shanks before the flour dusting, and rendering pancetta to use instead of butter). I was planning on making it one day and serving it the next because I wasn't going to be home for dinner the first night. When my husband got home he sneaked a piece and texted me that he wanted to marry me all over again (it's been 32 years). He couldn't believe I "nailed it" on my first try. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I totally recommend this recipe. The gremolata at the end is a must. Served with spaghetti it was a resounding success with everyone wanting seconds. Make sure you make enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
My husband said it was better than having it at a restaurant! Nothing needs to be changed on this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
I followed the recipe, with the exception of using veal stew meat instead. I didn't cook the entire meal for the duration recommended since the meat had no bones in it. Maybe that's where I went wrong as the meat was so chewy and the overall flavor was not appetizing to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
We loved this recipe! I salt and peppered the veal and then floured and seared it as suggested. It was an elegant, easy and delicious meal. We had a great bottle of wine, some asparagus and pasta to go with it. Fantastic! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alice, Texas, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Made exactly as recipe stated. This is very elegant and so, so good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Did not care for it. Very plain taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BabyChops

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pettyh
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
This is absolutely delicious. I did make a couple changes. 1) I minced the onion, carrot, celery, and garlic. I don't think Osso Buco was meant to have whole veggies; they are just supposed to form the sauce. I could be wrong, but this has been the norm in my experience thus far. 2) I seasoned the veal shanks with salt and pepper before dredging in flour. 3) I added 1/4 t dried thyme, 1/4 t dried basil, and 1/4 t dried parsley before allowing to simmer. 4) Finally, I cooked this in the oven at 300 for 2.5 hours. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
This was very good, but was just missing something. I think next time some thyme and Bay leaves would help it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Osso Bucco

Learn how to make this classic, slow-braised, northern Italian veal shank.

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Traditional Indiana Breaded Tenderloin

Watch how to make this sandwich that is a favorite of Indiana residents.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States