Traditional Osso Buco Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Did not care for it. Very plain taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BabyChops

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pettyh
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
This is absolutely delicious. I did make a couple changes. 1) I minced the onion, carrot, celery, and garlic. I don't think Osso Buco was meant to have whole veggies; they are just supposed to form the sauce. I could be wrong, but this has been the norm in my experience thus far. 2) I seasoned the veal shanks with salt and pepper before dredging in flour. 3) I added 1/4 t dried thyme, 1/4 t dried basil, and 1/4 t dried parsley before allowing to simmer. 4) Finally, I cooked this in the oven at 300 for 2.5 hours. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
This was very good, but was just missing something. I think next time some thyme and Bay leaves would help it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
This was absolutely wonderful. My husband requested Osso Bucco for his birthday today 2/26/13. With that said, I prepared this recipe for 14 people. I read all the reviews first and made a couple of changes. First, I rendered pancetta and seared off my salt/peppered/ flour dusted veal shanks in the fat. Scrapped the bottom of pan, hit it with the garlic and onion and cooked. Deglazed the pots with the white wine. I added italian seasoning through the cooking process and salt and pepper. I made this the day before so this dish could rest overnight and become more flavorful. Dinner was at 5:30pm, I took osso bucco out of the frig around 1pm and let it come to room temp for about an hour, put on low and let simmer until dinner time. Meat was fall off the bone tender and the sauce was wonderful. I have leftover sauce with carrots that I will probably throw some pasta into and make a nice soup. One thing I will do next time is dredge the veal in flour in lieu of dusting. This will help to thicken the sauce a little more though you don't want this to be stew like. The cooking time is off. Should be about 2 hrs the night before and then three hours the next day. Also, served this with a parmesan risotto and good italian bread. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I must be in the minority after looking at the ratings for this dish.... I usually love Osso Bucco, but after making this 2x, it has a very different flavor that I just didn't care for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Just served and inhaled this dinner for my husbands birthday dinner and let me just say "Fantastic !" And thats coming from an ok cook !!!! We dined on OssoBuco in a restaurant on Arthur Ave this past weekend which is in The Little Italy section of the Bronx, NY. .True classic Italian restaurants with authentic , delicious food.I had to try this for its my husbands favorite dish.So happy I found this recipe!!,OMG it was as good as what we had in the restaurant !!!!We all kept saying this is sooooo good:) Slow cooked for hours in a heavy cast iron pot and served with gnocci, just like in the restaurant!!!The sauce and meat were delicious and so tender and juicy!,plus the house smelled awesome.Comfort food so yummy and your guests will be impressed too!!! A KEEPER and repeat again and again for sure :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly and it just didn't turn out for me. The meat tasted like it needed to cook an hour or two more. Not sure what I did wrong, but I did not like this one that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARAB1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Great recipe for veal shanks. Did not change a thing. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
It was just OK for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I don't really care for osso bucco in general, but when i made this for my husband, he loved it! I froze the leftovers and he had it again 2 weeks later and said it was still amazing. He rarely raves about my cooking that way. A recipe that gets a rave from my husband has to be worth 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Osso Bucco

Learn how to make this classic, slow-braised, northern Italian veal shank.

Traditional Indiana Breaded Tenderloin

Watch how to make this sandwich that is a favorite of Indiana residents.

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States