Traditional Mexican Guacamole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2015
Very good recipe although not truly traditional as the name suggests. Traditional guacamole contains simply avocado and salt. I omitted the cilantro only because I'm one of the people who don't like it and I didn't use lemon juice because it adds a tang that has no place in traditional guacamole. Covering the surface with plastic wrap will keep it from browning during refrigeration and at my house it gets eaten too quickly to brown once I serve it. I thought the tomato/avocado ratio didnt work for me. Too much tomato for the scant avocado used. I also think green onions would work better. Traditional guacamole is creamy except for the occasional chunk of avocado. Chopped onions changed the texture too much. The jalapeños added a nice kick. All in all a good recipe but definitely not traditional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jaana Smith Bauman
Reviewed: May 5, 2015
We really enjoyed this! I think next time I will use lime juice (instead of lemon juice) and minced garlic. I'll also add a second jalapeno. Great recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaana Smith Bauman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Camano Island, Washington, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: May 3, 2015
I don't think I've ever had a guacamole that I didn't like, and this is no exception. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
Thank you Kaersten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Shafir

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
This was very good and very appreciated by everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
OMG so good! I didn't really follow the recipe. My ancient aztec ancestors used to make this and we lost the recipe fire. This tastes just like how my Cihtli used to make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Excellent flavor and so easy to make. I did put all the ingredients in a food processor which made it so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pavs01

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Really excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Son E Mel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
This is so good just the way it is, but tonight when I made it I added the smallest clove of garlic on the bulb, mashed it and minced, also added one squeeze of lime, more to keep it's color..not that it's going to last long enough to darken! This is so much better than anything you can buy or mix together with a packet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth32

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Yarmouth, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I did not like avocado before trying this recipe. Lucky for me I tried it because its awesome! instead of jalapenos I added my own habenero pepper sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clayton, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Guacamole

See how to make classic guacamole with all fresh ingredients.

Chunky Paleo Guacamole

A chunky-style guacamole with diced jalapenos, garlic, and tomatoes.

How to Make Guacamole

Make fresh guacamole in less than 10 minutes—and get tips on peeling tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States