Traditional Lemon Meringue Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I had no problem with this recipe. I had successfully made a lemon meringue pie 28 years ago and so I was a little concerned when I read about falling wet meringue and runny lemon filling, but this recipe came out great. I did take the meringue outside to cool it down though before I whipped the meringue. No problem with the meringue baking on top. I also didn't put it in the fridge before eating because I don’t like cold pie. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I have to say this was one darn good pie. Everyone loved it. However, the only down side was the Meringue, which is why it got 4.5 stars instead of 5. Next time I would use 4 egg whites for the Meringue. Other than that wouldn't change anything with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I've had a craving for citrus desserts this week, first orange cake, and this awesome meringue pie. First time without using a mix for the filling. This will be my only lemon pie recipe, thank you ARGO! MMWHAA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This is the best pie I have ever made! I followed the directions exactly and it turned out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Craigsville, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Mount Sterling, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I love this recipe-I make and use the filling for cakes, cream puffs, cupcakes and donuts. By adding gelatin the filling can be molded for more dessert applications. Happy Baling and Decorating, Chef AWE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Lawrenceville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
FANTASTIC! We absolutely loved this pie! It was easy to make; the hardest part was waiting the 3 hours for it to chill. Next time, I will increase the meringue, (although it is not necessary), so I can have a "higher" pie. Thank you Argo for such a FANTASTIC recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
this is delicious! i love lemon meringue pie but had never figured out how tho make it before. i was about to make it and realized that i didn't have a lemon. so i used lemon juice in place of the lemon peal. (1tbs lemon juice=1/2 tbs lemon peal) which would be 2 tbs of lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-27 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States