Traditional Lemon Meringue Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
I had my doubts about this one. I was pleasantly surprised! I did not have a lemon so I used lime. This was actually really good. The only thing I would change is not putting in the lime peel. I would just use the juice. Very Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Southern Buckeye

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
This pie was awesome. I have never made Lemon Meringue before as I do not like it but I tried this one and it was awesome. My 68 yr old father in law was very impressed! He is hard to please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
For starters: anyone who makes this pie may want to use an extra egg for the meringue. It is exceptionally flat but that could also be because I ferociously hand-mixed it, sans the hand mixer. I'm not worried so much about it being flat but I would prefer more meringue. In regards to its taste, this recipe did not turn out how I expected it to. I followed the directions almost perfectly however I am not impressed with the amount of meringue, the fact that I cooked it until it was golden and half of the pie is solid but the other appears to be jiggly/liquidy and the pie doesn't have the right texture. It is almost rubbery. Three stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
this was an AMAZING PIE~!!! i made it for my mom for her birthday and she said it was AMAZING!!! i would eat it EVERYDAY if i could. i am also going to share this recipe with others that i know~!!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Excellent pie. I added 1/4 tsp of Cream of Tartar to my egg whites. I live in a humid environment and the Cream of Tartar stabilizes the meringue and keeps it from going soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dragonlady

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
I made this for my grandmothers 96th birthday as she requested. I doubled the recipe as I have a large 10 inch deep pie pan. It was perfect could not have been any better. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
This pie is AMAZINGGGG! I doubled the recipe to make two pies and they are PERFECTION!! love this recipe.. WILL BE MAKING AGAIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephbolton1986

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
This recipe is perfect as it is!! I've tried with dried lemon zest and bottled lemon juice and it was good... then I tried it with a real lemon and it was GREAT!! Either way, it's the best I've found so far..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I made this pie and it probably would have been amazing; however, the pot I used reacted with the lemon juice and caused the filling to have a metallic taste. (Common reaction according to research) I had to throw the whole pie out! I would recommend a glass pot (Pyrex) to make this pie. I used stainless (do not use copper either) and it was awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodygirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Followed recipe as is and pie came out awesome! Three hours in the frig was not long enough though... first slice was watery BUT perfect the next morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States