Traditional Layered French Croissants Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ash
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
The directions were easy to follow, but took forever to make! The result tastes like heaven, totally worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
This is an excellent recipe. However, 1/2 teaspoon of salt is simply not enough. Next time I make it I will simply use salted butter. Also, I baked for 10 minutes at 400 then turned the trays around and baked for an additional 12 minutes at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Amazing recipe. Thank you for taking the time to write out the instructions. Followed the instructions step by step and ended up with the best croissants, all that was missing was the Champs-Elysees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Very delicious and authentic, however it does take an extreme amount of time and dedication.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Limit Does Not Exist

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barstow, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
I thought the recipe made this too complicated - it did not take me so many chill/thaw times. The croissants look nice on the outside, but the inside was not completely done. They also lacked flavor like others mentioned. Next time, I will add more salt and bake them at a lower temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Everything in this recipe seems to be spot on...except the bake time. 425 degrees at 22 minutes (minimum time given) is way too long. I over baked half of my recipe (and work) by following this time. The second pan I am giving 16 minutes and then watching. This is not an oven to oven temperature difference...it's a frustrating bake time error in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wyunker

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toluca, Illinois, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I changed them to use half cake flour and next time I will use 1/3-1/2 salted butter instead of all unsalted. Rise at cooler room temp (sub 80 F) or your butter will melt and soak into your pastry, making it tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alpine, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
The recipe was easy to follow. The croissants turned out light and fluffy, but they greatly lacked flavor. I might try this again, but with salted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
tasty, but i must have missed something. how do i get the big flakey layers?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
My daughter made this for french class in high school and they came out great! Well worth the time and effort it took. Not a quick recipe it takes time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

French Crepes

These crêpes can be used with savory or sweet fillings. Bon appétit!

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States