Traditional Layered French Croissants Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
This is an excellent recipe. However, 1/2 teaspoon of salt is simply not enough. Next time I make it I will simply use salted butter. Also, I baked for 10 minutes at 400 then turned the trays around and baked for an additional 12 minutes at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Amazing recipe. Thank you for taking the time to write out the instructions. Followed the instructions step by step and ended up with the best croissants, all that was missing was the Champs-Elysees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Very delicious and authentic, however it does take an extreme amount of time and dedication.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Limit Does Not Exist

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barstow, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
I thought the recipe made this too complicated - it did not take me so many chill/thaw times. The croissants look nice on the outside, but the inside was not completely done. They also lacked flavor like others mentioned. Next time, I will add more salt and bake them at a lower temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Everything in this recipe seems to be spot on...except the bake time. 425 degrees at 22 minutes (minimum time given) is way too long. I over baked half of my recipe (and work) by following this time. The second pan I am giving 16 minutes and then watching. This is not an oven to oven temperature difference...it's a frustrating bake time error in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wyunker

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toluca, Illinois, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I changed them to use half cake flour and next time I will use 1/3-1/2 salted butter instead of all unsalted. Rise at cooler room temp (sub 80 F) or your butter will melt and soak into your pastry, making it tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alpine, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
The recipe was easy to follow. The croissants turned out light and fluffy, but they greatly lacked flavor. I might try this again, but with salted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
tasty, but i must have missed something. how do i get the big flakey layers?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
My daughter made this for french class in high school and they came out great! Well worth the time and effort it took. Not a quick recipe it takes time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Pay attention to the sizing of the croissants. If they are too small they will be crisp with very few folds inside. Try to keep the final triangles larger than 5 inches at the base. The folding process is actually much simpler than it sounds. It does not take as many chill-thaw cycles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

French Crepes

These crêpes can be used with savory or sweet fillings. Bon appétit!

How to Make French Crepes

See how to make traditional Normandy-style crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States