Traditional Italian Sausage Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cookie734
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This recipe was a LOT of work, but the end result was well worth it. It is a flavorful, filling stuffing. I used it basically as a main course, but it would do well as a side as well. Forget the packaged stuffing. Take the time to try this one. You won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie734
Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cynthia Ross
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
If you like the ingredients, usually, you'll like the finished dish. This one is wonderful! Couldn't find focacia in the middle of nowhere, Texas. Used white bread, Johnsonville mild sausage and sun dried tomato spread. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2013
I went a little cajun and substituted alligator sausage and stuffed my Thanksgiving duck with this. It was divine! Had people showing up the next year wanting to know where the alligator duck was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
In my personal recipe book, I labeled this as "Pizza Thanksgiving Stuffing" because it tastes exactly like sausage pizza! (And I made it for Thanksgiving.) It's got the bread, like pizza crust, cheese, tomatoes like sauce and sausage. All the makings of a pizza! And that's exactly what it tasted like, a pizza casserole. Here are my tips: Do not double the recipe. I did this because I was making for 13+ people, and didn't think one batch would be enough. Trust me. It is. Nearly everyone had some and some even had seconds. Some even took some home. There was more than enough. Probably because there were so many other dishes, everyone got filled up. I got a lot of rave reviews though, and one of the kids said they normally hated stuffing but liked mine. I omitted the olives, because I thought it sounded weird, and didn't want to offend picky eaters, however in retrospect, olives, especially black ones, would probably have worked. Sun dried tomatoes are delicious and a must, as are fresh basil. I used water, since I didn't have wine, but I am sure wine would be good too. Definitely do the shredded parmesan, because it melts much better than the grated kind. I could not find focaccia bread in my grocery store, so I had to sub with an everything loaf and a cheese focaccia bread. Were still phenomenal and I would highly recommend the everything loaf! I used 2 diff kinds of sausage and both were good! All in all, really good if you like pizza and especially for kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
excellent recipe, and I followed as listed....... Had lot's of compliments for Thanksgiving, AND had to share it. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eve408

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Neu-Ulm, Bayern, Germany
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This recipe was great! I used spicy breakfast sausage, left out the bay leaves(couldn't find any), bell pepper, and olives. It still turned out great :). Very moist & delish! I used water but may try white wine next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Fallbrook, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I actually found this recipe when I was clipping my coupons. My husband thought it sounded good so we thought we would try it out before Thanksgiving to see if it would be good enough for the big day. Everyone liked it so we decided that we would do this instead of our usual cornbread/bread mixed stuffing. The Italian sausage and the garlic bread add flavors that I don't typically utilize for Thanksgiving but it works well. We had it with roasted chicken but I'm sure it will be fine with turkey. It was also great heated up the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
wanted to try this out before thanksgiving ,and we really liked it ,did make a few changes add real italian sausage, not breakfast.added some piand a little garlic.ne nut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Ok I usually steer away from recipes without reviews but I was taking a chance on this cause it sounded good!! Although it was really good it needed a little fixing up. I cut the recipe in half cause it was just myself & husband. I bought a rosemary olive oil loaf of focaccia bread & it added wonderful flavor! I also bought Jones breakfast sausage (I thought the recipe called for breakfast sausage when I was shopping & couldn't find Johnsonville brand so just grabbed my regualr favorite until I realized it was suppose to be italian sausage, my mistake but it was really good so I will stick to Jones breakfast from now on!) I left out the green peppers, tomatoes & olives we don't care for them, but did add a handfull of craisins which added a great sweetness to the stuffing! Then I opted for the white wine instead of water! It smelt wonderful before I even put it in the oven! However the stuffing was still dry & crunchy when it was done....so my only complaint was that it needed more liquid. But it was my 1st time making stuffing so i didn't want to add more liquid in case it made it soggy....but now I know if it looks like I need it add it before you bake it! It was still good just very, crunchy! Overall tasted great! I'm making this for my 1st thanksgiving dinner with the changes :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrsejessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Sausage Stuffing

See how to make a 5-star sausage stuffing for Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States