Traditional Indiana Persimmon Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I am born and raised in Indiana and this is EXACTLY like my grandmas! It is wonderful. The only things I did different were that I added a 1/2 tsp of cinnamon (because Grandma always did) and I used baking powder instead of soda. This is gooey yummy goodness that brings me back to Grandma's farm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Sears

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
This is a very good recipe to try. Looks bad, but it is very good. Were from Indiana and eat this every year for the Holidays. Stay away from the ones on the tree though. Sour as hell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I think there is a typo in this recipe. If you look at the majority of other persimmon pudding recipes they call for 2 cups of pulp and 2 cups of FLOUR NOT 4. I believe this is the reason why this pudding comes out cakey and lighter colored. The person that posted this recipe commented on another persimmon pudding recipe saying that the recipe was identical but that she stirs hers, but when i compared the ingredients the other had half as much flour. I'm guessing it is just an ingredient error in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Grew up in and still live in Indiana. Great-grandparents founded multiple towns here. This is NOT like any persimmon pudding I've ever had or cooked. To be fair, for families like mine, there are always the recipes of persimmon pudding handed down for centuries (mine is over 150 years old and still describes how to fire the wood oven!). None of the recipes are the same, and each family loves theirs and no-one else's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Okay, this is a relatively obscure recipe. That being said, I can't encourage you enough to try it. I used fresh persimmon and followed the recipe to the letter. The result? Well, my family RAVISHED the result. It's simply outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Lots of work for not much persimmon flavor. Followed the recipe exactly and am an experienced baker. I was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Recipe seemed very easy. Followed and cooked exactly as written. Don't know what went wrong or if it was just the recipe, but the end result came out like a tasteless paste. When cold, it was too hard to eat, and when warm, it was kind of sticky and flavorless. Nothing at all like any persimmon puddings or cakes I've had growing up. Very disappointed. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This is a completely different recipe than what I grew up with in Indiana, but definitely as good! I'm used to a cool, moist "pie" texture. This comes out of the oven very thick and hot, best when poured over vanilla ice cream! I do have two suggestions to add a little more flavor, I added One Tbsp. of ground cinnamon and 1 Tbsp. of ground cloves. To quote my 7-year-old nephew: "I don't know what this stuff is, but it's DELICIOUS!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Albany, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Finally, a recipe that tastes like I remember it. Adding a little amaretto in place of some milk is a possibility, but pleasant smell of persimmons permeates the house for two hours and one can actually taste the persimmons in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Meadowwood Tapioca Pudding

See what it takes to make a complete “homestead meal” including tapioca pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States