Traditional Indiana Persimmon Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Ahhhh! I am a born and bred Hoosier, and this is amazing. I live in New England now, and have persimmon pulp shipped to me from Dillman Farms in Indy. It's worth every penny. This is delicious served with fresh whipped cream. Everyone here who has tried has loved it. It reminds me of Indian pudding. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I haven't tried this exact recipe but I know and eat Indiana persimmon pudding. Have made it and purchased it pre-made. Always DELICIOUS but it is an aquired taste. If you like sweet potato pudding you will probably like persimmon pudding. Serve with whipped topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Okay, this is a relatively obscure recipe. That being said, I can't encourage you enough to try it. I used fresh persimmon and followed the recipe to the letter. The result? Well, my family RAVISHED the result. It's simply outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
I gave this 5 stars because it is almost exactly like the recipe that's been handed down in my family from the same era, and it is simply heavenly! Living in Texas for 25 years, I still crave persimmon pudding at Thanksgiving. I'll be contacting Dillman Farms this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisa Griscom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
This recipe is the same my grandmother makes,just a lil more of this & less of that.I live in the south so it is hard to get persimmons down here at least in the stores.I always looked foward to this when they came to vist fro PA.Even better warm w/ a lil milk added to it...Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carolyn29702

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Blacksburg, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Finally, a recipe that tastes like I remember it. Adding a little amaretto in place of some milk is a possibility, but pleasant smell of persimmons permeates the house for two hours and one can actually taste the persimmons in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KerryT
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I'd like to clarify a couple of things about this recipe. I submitted this particular recipe, and to Beth, who made a comment, you are correct if you are going by the picture. I don't know where this picture came from, but its NOT my pudding! The picture looks like a cake. I wrote a long time ago to the webmaster to delete the photo because it is misleading. My grandmother's father, whose last name was Mitchell, was born and raised in Mitchell, Indiana. This recipe came from his family. I hope to get my own pudding photo uploaded to replace the one there now. Thanks :) -Kerry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
237 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KerryT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Danville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
this is very similar to the recipe that my great grandmother used...that all my family uses and we have been eating it all our lives. some family members like whipped cream on top, some prefer milk or cream over it, no matter how you prefer, it's still a great recipe well worth keeping around for generations to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This is a completely different recipe than what I grew up with in Indiana, but definitely as good! I'm used to a cool, moist "pie" texture. This comes out of the oven very thick and hot, best when poured over vanilla ice cream! I do have two suggestions to add a little more flavor, I added One Tbsp. of ground cinnamon and 1 Tbsp. of ground cloves. To quote my 7-year-old nephew: "I don't know what this stuff is, but it's DELICIOUS!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Albany, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I am from Henryville, Indiana, originally from New Albany. My Nanny (grandmother) always made this for the holidays, however I was a little confused when I was checking her recipe against the recipes on here. Ours is never stirred, it is meant to have a crust and the consistency of pumpkin pie only thinner. That was always what I loved about it, that chewy outer layer and the gooey inner pudding is to die for. So I guess what I wanted to say is that, it is just as good if not better and a lot less work to just leave it cooking and not stir it. Yes it does come out more cakelike but it is delicious. I think as with all old recipes that it just depends on how our ancestors prepared it and if your all's ancestors are anything like mine were about 1/2 of any recipe was in their heads and up for revision with each preparation. I think if you put all the right ingredients in it, there isn't really any wrong way to make this stuff, it's yummy no matter what. Also, Kerry anyone is allowed to upload a picture of the recipe, there can be 10 or 20 different pictures of the same recipe, people just have to scroll through them, but I agree this picture looks nothing like the traditional Persimmon pudding we make around here, but it doesn't look that bad, I'd eat it. LOL Happy Turkey day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Fischbach

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Henryville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Meadowwood Tapioca Pudding

See what it takes to make a complete “homestead meal” including tapioca pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States