Traditional Indiana Persimmon Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I think there is a typo in this recipe. If you look at the majority of other persimmon pudding recipes they call for 2 cups of pulp and 2 cups of FLOUR NOT 4. I believe this is the reason why this pudding comes out cakey and lighter colored. The person that posted this recipe commented on another persimmon pudding recipe saying that the recipe was identical but that she stirs hers, but when i compared the ingredients the other had half as much flour. I'm guessing it is just an ingredient error in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Grew up in and still live in Indiana. Great-grandparents founded multiple towns here. This is NOT like any persimmon pudding I've ever had or cooked. To be fair, for families like mine, there are always the recipes of persimmon pudding handed down for centuries (mine is over 150 years old and still describes how to fire the wood oven!). None of the recipes are the same, and each family loves theirs and no-one else's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Okay, this is a relatively obscure recipe. That being said, I can't encourage you enough to try it. I used fresh persimmon and followed the recipe to the letter. The result? Well, my family RAVISHED the result. It's simply outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Lots of work for not much persimmon flavor. Followed the recipe exactly and am an experienced baker. I was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Recipe seemed very easy. Followed and cooked exactly as written. Don't know what went wrong or if it was just the recipe, but the end result came out like a tasteless paste. When cold, it was too hard to eat, and when warm, it was kind of sticky and flavorless. Nothing at all like any persimmon puddings or cakes I've had growing up. Very disappointed. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This is a completely different recipe than what I grew up with in Indiana, but definitely as good! I'm used to a cool, moist "pie" texture. This comes out of the oven very thick and hot, best when poured over vanilla ice cream! I do have two suggestions to add a little more flavor, I added One Tbsp. of ground cinnamon and 1 Tbsp. of ground cloves. To quote my 7-year-old nephew: "I don't know what this stuff is, but it's DELICIOUS!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Albany, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Finally, a recipe that tastes like I remember it. Adding a little amaretto in place of some milk is a possibility, but pleasant smell of persimmons permeates the house for two hours and one can actually taste the persimmons in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I suspect the reviewers who complain that this is more like bread than pudding didn't stir the concoction every 15 minutes as per the directions. I followed the directions, except cut it off after about an hour and a half of total cook time, (my oven might run hot, I don't know) and got a thick, brown, traditional pudding from it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I am from Henryville, Indiana, originally from New Albany. My Nanny (grandmother) always made this for the holidays, however I was a little confused when I was checking her recipe against the recipes on here. Ours is never stirred, it is meant to have a crust and the consistency of pumpkin pie only thinner. That was always what I loved about it, that chewy outer layer and the gooey inner pudding is to die for. So I guess what I wanted to say is that, it is just as good if not better and a lot less work to just leave it cooking and not stir it. Yes it does come out more cakelike but it is delicious. I think as with all old recipes that it just depends on how our ancestors prepared it and if your all's ancestors are anything like mine were about 1/2 of any recipe was in their heads and up for revision with each preparation. I think if you put all the right ingredients in it, there isn't really any wrong way to make this stuff, it's yummy no matter what. Also, Kerry anyone is allowed to upload a picture of the recipe, there can be 10 or 20 different pictures of the same recipe, people just have to scroll through them, but I agree this picture looks nothing like the traditional Persimmon pudding we make around here, but it doesn't look that bad, I'd eat it. LOL Happy Turkey day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Fischbach

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Henryville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
this recipe was extremely disappointing.i expected it to be like my family's PUDDING,yet it was more of a cake.i wasted money on all the ingredients.next time the picture needs to match the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Meadowwood Tapioca Pudding

See what it takes to make a complete “homestead meal” including tapioca pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States