Traditional Indiana Breaded Tenderloin Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 2, 2013
These were really good sandwiches. I thought they needed a little more kick in the breading, maybe some mustard powder or cayenne pepper. Ketchup really overpowers the sandwich, I would stick to mustard/mayo. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
These tenderloins were tender and had a good flavor! I could not find "marjoram" in our grocery so I doubled the amount of oregano since a quick Internet search indicated that was a good substitute. Also, I used Panko for a crunchier breading and fried them in a little vegetable oil since I did not have Peanut oil. My husband started eating them immediately so we did not get to try them on a sandwich but I'm sure they would have been really good on a roll also! Looking forward to having leftovers tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Picayune, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Kingston, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
My family is from Indiana and this is def a must get when we go there. So good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I have yet to write any review on this site and I've found some darn good recipes here. This tenderloin was amazing. I didn't do this as directed. I intended to have pork chops. I marinated them last night with a simple Lawary's marinade (I can't remember the name) and threw them in the fridge with the intention of cooking them as marinated pork chops tonight. This afternoon I was looking around on this site and found this recipe. I decided to switch it up and have pork tenderloins. I proceeded to pull the marinating chops out of the fridge. I then placed them between plastic wrap and pounded them flat. I placed them back in the marinade. A few hours later I made the tenderloins using the recipe above. The marinade and the batter from this recipe made these chops outstanding. I'm sure that using this recipe also would yield great results. I loved the batter recipe on here and will be trying it for fried chicken. Great recipe, I highly recommend people trying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I made the pork as written, except I used panko breadcrumbs for extra crunch. I think the regular breadcrumbs called for could be good also. This also was good for lunch the next day right out of the fridge. We topped them with cheese and ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I'm from Indiana, and I have to say, this is truly authentic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
First time making breaded tenderloins. Turned out great! I usually get one most places I go to compare. I used Andy's hot and spicy chicken breading (wasn't that spicy) mixed with a bit of bread crumbs. Used a deep fryer to fry them for around 13 mins. Will make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Thanks for the recipe Kathi, as a Hoosier living in MA I'm wishing for a Charlie's tenderloin from my local drive-in diner. Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madison's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinsville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
My husband and kids love this. He grew up in Indiana and he says it tastes just like home. I didn't change a thing in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Excellent! Like a previous reviewer, I only heard of this sandwich on "Man vs Food". Living on the Mexican border, we like to try lots of "foreign" food (lol). This must be the Indiana version of our Texas CFS (chicken fried steak), a schnitzel derivative. I used a pork tenderloin that I butterflied and pounded to about 1/4 inch. I pretty much stuck to the recipe, and we really did enjoy the sandwiches! I cooked the pork for about 2-3 minutes per side in a cast iron skillet--be careful and watch the browning. Fortunately, the FDA has determined that we don't have to cook pork well done, so it's fine to leave it a little pinkish on the interior. We used mustard and mayonnaise, as well as lettuce, tomato, and thinly sliced onions. I prepped everything up early in the day, and was able to have dinner on the table in little more than 5 minutes when DH came home from work. I served a fresh green salad as a side dish. Thanks for a new meal idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margaux

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Traditional Indiana Breaded Tenderloin

Watch how to make this sandwich that is a favorite of Indiana residents.

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Grilled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a 5-star spice-rubbed pork tenderloin for the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States