Traditional Indiana Breaded Tenderloin Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Excellent! Like a previous reviewer, I only heard of this sandwich on "Man vs Food". Living on the Mexican border, we like to try lots of "foreign" food (lol). This must be the Indiana version of our Texas CFS (chicken fried steak), a schnitzel derivative. I used a pork tenderloin that I butterflied and pounded to about 1/4 inch. I pretty much stuck to the recipe, and we really did enjoy the sandwiches! I cooked the pork for about 2-3 minutes per side in a cast iron skillet--be careful and watch the browning. Fortunately, the FDA has determined that we don't have to cook pork well done, so it's fine to leave it a little pinkish on the interior. We used mustard and mayonnaise, as well as lettuce, tomato, and thinly sliced onions. I prepped everything up early in the day, and was able to have dinner on the table in little more than 5 minutes when DH came home from work. I served a fresh green salad as a side dish. Thanks for a new meal idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margaux

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
These are great and my mother from Indiana loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hixson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Great taste, but I think I would have liked it better had it not been pounded quite so thin. LOVED the flavor of the sandwich though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi2Five

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This was delicious. I made half with Panko bread crumb and half with regular bread crumbs. The regular crumbs seemed to cover the pork better, but they were both delicious. They were even great the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
These are very good! We made them twice once with Panko and once with crushed saltines. We liked the saltines better but think it is because of the increase of salt. Also, make sure you pound them out really thin... they seem to shrink back up so really really pound them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I'm from Iowa, and my wife went to school there. We consider ourselves well versed in the ways of the tenderloin. This was truly great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
This was SOO good! I baked my own rolls which made this dish absolutly perfect! SO good with pickles, mayo, mustard and lettuce. Mmm...Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Very good, but I tried with panko bread crumbs like others said, I WON'T do that again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Piqua, Ohio, USA
Living In: Covington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Pretty darn yummy. I doubled the mik/egg/spices and double dipped & coated my pork. Used an electric skillet and after getting oil good and hot, turned it down to medium. Cooked for more like 5 minutes tops on each side. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Traditional Indiana Breaded Tenderloin

Watch how to make this sandwich that is a favorite of Indiana residents.

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Grilled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a 5-star spice-rubbed pork tenderloin for the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States