Traditional Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2015
I've used this recipe many times and it is great as it is! Sometimes I halve the recipe as it makes a lot and it is best fresh. I also sometimes change the garbanzo beans for pink, red or kidney beans for a change in flavour and additional fiber. Try it! It is also nice with the addition of some roasted red pepper processed with the beans, or a pinch of cayenne. Enjoy! It is wonderful paired with Tabouleh and fresh homemade pita bread! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holbrook, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2015
My husband and friends loved this hummus! I felt there was just too much lemon and not quite enough garlic, so I'll adjust the recipe next time accordingly. Even as written it's really tasty. This recipe makes a ton.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Just made this with my 9 year old son and it turned out perfect. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingfor9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
This recipe was delicious, basic so you can enhance if you desire. It makes a large batch, I just shared with a friend. I did not use the oil for serving. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Great recipe. Though I only used about 1/4 cup of some homemade Tahini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Benedict Kim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Made first time as is and will now use also as a base for adding other favors!,,,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This is fantastic! I've made this recipe twice now in the past couple of weeks. My only alterations were that I used about half the amount of lemon juice called for, an extra garlic clove, and added a little cumin. I thought it was really good, plus I got rave reviews from husband and dinner guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I added a jar of roasted red bell peppers (drained) and it was delicious. Great as a sandwich spread too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Great starter recipe, cut the olive oil in half with roasted sesame oil, and roasted a whole bulb of garlic and refrigerate over night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joe

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Picton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Make this just like it directs! I thought it would be too lemony, based on reviews, but if anything, i could have added a touch more lemon! In all, a fine basic recipe. I sprinkled some paprika over the top, in addition to the final 1/4 cup of olive oil. Serve with flatbread--enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ming

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Weeki Wachee, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Real Hummus

This bean dip is healthy and delicious--and so easy to make.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States