Traditional Gyro Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I had a craving for gryos last week but have never attempted to make them at home. This recipe is really easy and very good. They tasted very similar to gyros I have had at greek restaurants. The prep is a little timely and I actually didn't have the time to let the meat sit in the refrigerator before putting it in the oven and I was impressed at the flavor the meat had. The only thing I did different is I added 1/2 tsp. allspice per another recipe and did not use thyme. Another recipe called for 1/2 tsp coriander but I didn't have it and will probably add that next time. My picky husband loved the meat and actually ate it leftover and he NEVER eats leftovers. I will definitely make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
228 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plainfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Excellent! I made this recipe using a few modifications. I deleted the marjoram because I didnt' have any and I upped the garlic to 4 cloves. I know that it sounds like a lot, but I love garlic and it totally worked. I also upped the salt as well. Not sure exactly how much I used, but it was more than the recipe called for. Not much, but I actually wanted it to taste salty like the gyros that you'd get from a restaurant. One more thing I did was grill it on the barbeque outside. I started it wrapped in foil and after 20 mins ( I turned it to ensure even cooking during this time) I took the foil off and grilled it on the open grill. It was WONDERFUL! Not exactly like what you'd get at a gyro place, but pretty close. All of my friends couldn't believe that I made them at home. To answer the reviewer who wondered whether or not the food processor makes a difference, I have to say that it definitely does! Processing the meat till it's paste-like makes a HUGE difference! the texture is completely different than it would have been if I'd just left it as it was. I gave it 4 start because of the mods I made to it, but I really liked this recipe and I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
188 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anita

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago Heights, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This was excellent! Easy to make. Didn't change a thing about the recipe. Sliced it on an angle, very thin and it looked almost like we had just cut it off the "spit". Found a good recipe for pita bread also on another site so made that to go with it. Sure beats the store bought pita bread. Also used the easy cucumber sauce from this site. All in all it was a grrrreat meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
We thought this recipe was a little bland. I used a whole onion (since I hate having half an onion lying around) and doubled the garlic and thought it could use even more. I think the biggest problem of this recipe was the salt. 1/4t. for 2lbs of meat is not nearly enough. Healthier, yes, but not as tasty. I wanted to be a little conservative with the salt since I was serving it with Tzatziki (a little salty) and feta (quite salty), so I only doubled the amount. It could have used even more. Sure, you can add salt to the pieces later, but I think the flavor would be better if the meat was salted throughout. Next time, I think I’ll try 1.5t. or 2t. I cooked it in an 8.5” loaf pan and it took about an hour. I also had to leave the mixture in the food processor for much longer to get a tacky texture, so if your processor is older or cheap like mine, you may have to do the same. All in all, I thought it did resemble gyro meat and would resemble it even more if you tossed the pieces on a grill before serving. It was moist, yet not greasy. I will make it again, but will try to spice it up a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
I like to make this ahead of time and then grill the slices before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAForster

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kris
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This was easy to make and also tastes very close to what I get at the restaurant. I upped the salt to a teaspoon, though, as I thought 1/4 tsp would have left the meat bland. Mine took longer to cook than the directions stated. I found that a paper towel was an excellent way to squeeze the water from the onions. The onions came right out and did not stick to the paper towel and then I only had to throw the paper towel away for easy clean-up. The next time I make this meat, I'll save the juice that bakes off and cover the meat with it in the fridge to keep it moist. Live and learn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I have made this gyros meat several times and Love it! First time could not find ground lamb in grocery store so I used 1-lb ground pork with 1-lb ground beef. Subsequent times I used the ground lamb/beef combo when a local grocer started carrying ground lamb and it was fabulous. I followed the directions for ingredients, but I do the following things differently, when I take the loaf out of the oven, I drain off whatever grease, then place a cold loaf pan on top, inside the 2nd loaf pan I placed 2 small hand bar-bell wieghts ( I didnt have a brick) this compresses the meat even further as it cools. I then place the loaf into the freezer. I happen to have a cheap meat slicer and slice the loaf as thin strips. Making sandwiches, I take the strips of gyros, then fry them lightly oiled skillet (your oil of choice). I like doing it that way, seems to replicate the texture and also a nice warm meat in the sandwich. Have had nothing but compliments on this receipe! Thank you sooo much for sharing this!! 10-stars if I could give it that many!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
We can't get decent Gyros here in the suburbs of Philadelphia since moving from NY, so I tried this recipe and found the flavors very very close to the real thing. The only change I made is I now add a little more salt. Also make sure to pan fry the slices for a minute or two per side to get a little browning going before putting on the pita. This for a more authentic "gyro joint" experience, as the real "from the spit" gyro meat has a little bit of a crust on it. Good stuff - kudos!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bferris19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellmore, New York, USA
Living In: Kirklyn, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Really really good. My fiance and I had been craving gyros and love to cook and try new things, so we decided to give it a shot. Only thing we think we'd change is more garlic and more salt. Other than that-- excellent! We ate it ALL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This ended up tasting very much like the gyros I used to eat in Cicero/Chicago. Since lamb isn't available in my area, I used venison and beef, it came out drier than it would with lamb, but the taste was excellent. I doubled the recipe and I also did not use a food processor, I mixed mine by hand. I followed the cooking directions but will try something different next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a Paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States