Traditional Gyro Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Wow, this was sooo good! I'm really glad I found this recipe. I never imagined I could make a gyro as good as a Greek restaurant and this really turned out great. I did add more salt to the meat, though because that is what our taste is accustomed, but the spices were spot on. To complete the meal I made a good tzaziki dressing and homemade pitas (easy with my bread maker) and served with lettuce and tomato. What a great meal! I've made this twice so far and it will be a regular in our kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
As the recipe is, I found the seasonings were a little bit overpowering, and it needed more salt & pepper. But, it's a great base - next time I know what to add, and what to hold back on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Came out good. Took someones advise after cutting thin slices putting on skillet and browning before putting in gyro
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
We loved this. I used 1/2 lamb & 1/2 ground venison. Also, I cheated. I replaced the dried spices with a total of 3T greek seasoning (which has all that stuff in it) plus more salt. Used paper towel to drain onion, then combined & baked as directed. After cooling, I sliced thinly then browned slices in a skillet to serve. Looks & tastes just like the gyro places we frequent and my friends are super jealous that I can make my own! Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
This recipe produced the best gyros we have ever tasted. Better than any restaurant! It is a little bit of effort but SO worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honora Pieras

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This was wonderful and low carb! I made it as listed except I doubled the salt as stated in other reviews and it was perfect. I processed it all and pressed it into an 8x8 baking dish and then let it rest in the fridge for 2 hours, it came together quicker this way. Then I baked it on convection setting for 30 minutes and it was done and very easy to slice into strips. Froze half after slicing for a quick dinner later. One loaf is 6-8 dinner sized servings, perfect to portion and freeze. I will be making this gyro loaf a couple times a month now, SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This recipe was not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
This was off the hook! Im a big gyro fan and hate paying an arm and a leg for it. I added extra garlic and salt per other reviews, and subbed onion powder for onion for the kiddos. I also did not process the meat. Flavor was spot on...even my 9 and 15 year old were highly impressed. Served it with tzatziki from this site, and a greek salad. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April N.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
This was fantastic but I made several alterations : 1) I used 1 lb lamb and 1 lb buffalo (the buffalo is leaner than hamburger and the lamb is fatty enough to compensate), 2) we added lots of extra seasoning and 3) we baked it in an 8/8 pan with an X cut on top, this brought the cooking time down to 30 mins and made slicing thin long pieces much easier 4) we pan fried the slices to get a rich browned flavor DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I grew up next to a Greek restaurant and this is the closest to what I knew to be authentic. WONDERFUL combo on spices. I added a smidge extra salt. The cumin and rosemary meld to give it that smokey/flowery flavor that many Gyro recipes are lacking. I did add One pound of ground pork and it came out better than without. Many traditional Gyro recipes use pork so I thought I would try it. Awesome idea, adds bulk and the fat emulsifies the rest of the meat and spices into the desired paste consistency you need. We put ours on Naan bread w/ lettuce, tomatoe, feta, onion and tzaziki sauce. My family cannot get enough of this..I've made prob 6 loaves in the past month. So good I had to go reheat me one while writing this review lol Oh and it makes really easy, fast leftovers. Sear in a pan for a min and assemble...Viola !! Thanks for the deeelish dish !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Traditional Indiana Breaded Tenderloin

Watch how to make this sandwich that is a favorite of Indiana residents.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States