Traditional Gyro Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
This is excellent and the whole family loved it! Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Fresh is best! For those who thought this recipe was bland, use fresh ingredients and use garlic, salt and pepper to taste and you wont be disappointed. I recommend using Greek yogurt topping with tomatoes and pitas as well! The only thing I changed about this recipe is that I formed my loaf into 2 smaller loafs that were formed around skewers and cooked over a pan to catch the grease on the grill, (traditional Greek-style) turned out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
never in my wildest dreams did i think i'd find a recipe that so closely resembled street cart gyro deliciousness. this NAILED IT!!!!!!!!! Agree with other reviewers that food processing the meat, and straining the onions is key to good texture. we only let it rest a couple of hours before cooking, that was plenty of time for it to rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
This was not my cup of tea. I live in area where there are lots of greek and arabic resturants I have Gyro's from all different places, to think this recipe did not taste like any I have had. The thyme and rosemary over powered the taste, that was all I tasted even with tzatzki sauce. My husband loved it, he thought the flavors were awesome. If I made this again the thyme would be left out, the rosemary and cumin would be cut in half. I did like others and add 1 teaspoon of sea salt. I would also use 1/2 pound of lamb to 1 pound of beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
This is so tasty - I will definately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Remembered that SNL skit, "Hub's Gyros" today and immediately craved these. This is WONDERFUL and DIVINE meat! Like others, we left out the marjoram, as our local Kroger didn't have it and used an extra clove of garlic and 1 tsp kosher salt. **The most important part of this recipe is to food process/blend up the meat.** It gives it a texture that is tender and to die for and makes a perfect loaf. Do NOT skip this vital step. We used the blender, small amounts of meat at a time and it came out outstanding. We also did let it sit in the fridge for about 2 hrs (was only going to do one hour, but forgot about it) and the sauce (see other recipe for Tzatziki Sauce) chilled in the fridge while the meat cooked. This meal couldn't have been timed out any better. It was super easy (we are in our early 20s) and I will definitely, definitely make this again. Once it began cooking, the smell that filled the house was exactly what I was craving. I got so high off this meal and we only ate one a piece. Very, very filling. We ate the meat with the tzatziki sauce, fresh tomato, sauteed onions on Kangaroo pita flatbread. I am so happy we have leftovers. I will be eating this again tomorrow. **make sure to process the meat to get the texture!!**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by celerygeneral

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centralia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Wow, this was sooo good! I'm really glad I found this recipe. I never imagined I could make a gyro as good as a Greek restaurant and this really turned out great. I did add more salt to the meat, though because that is what our taste is accustomed, but the spices were spot on. To complete the meal I made a good tzaziki dressing and homemade pitas (easy with my bread maker) and served with lettuce and tomato. What a great meal! I've made this twice so far and it will be a regular in our kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
As the recipe is, I found the seasonings were a little bit overpowering, and it needed more salt & pepper. But, it's a great base - next time I know what to add, and what to hold back on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Came out good. Took someones advise after cutting thin slices putting on skillet and browning before putting in gyro
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
We loved this. I used 1/2 lamb & 1/2 ground venison. Also, I cheated. I replaced the dried spices with a total of 3T greek seasoning (which has all that stuff in it) plus more salt. Used paper towel to drain onion, then combined & baked as directed. After cooling, I sliced thinly then browned slices in a skillet to serve. Looks & tastes just like the gyro places we frequent and my friends are super jealous that I can make my own! Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States