Traditional Gyro Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Made this exactly as written, except we only let it sit in the fridge for about an hour. We forgot that it needed to sit and started making this at dinner time, so we couldn't really wait the full two hours. Served it on flat bread with tomatoes, onions and tzazki sauce...was wonderful! Really hit the spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
A++ I'd never made gyro meat before, but thought I'd like to try. I follwed the recipe using beef & pork, but I didn't have marjoram, and I did increase the salt to 1/2 tsp as other reviwers suggested. When I baked it, I placed a piece of foil over the meat and put another loaf pan full of hot water on it for about half of the baking time, since some of the reviews stated that it was important to keep it compressed. Half way though I took the extra weight and the foil off, to let the meat brown up, seemed to work perfectly for me, I didn't put a weight on it after I took it out of the oven. My husband had this for dinner on Sat night, breakfast on Sun morning and also lunch on Sun... I'd say it was a hit. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Very good, mine tasted 80-90% like the real thing. I did what people suggested and pan sear each piece of meat prior to making each gyro. If I do again I will make 4x the amount of meat and slice/freeze it, as it is a little time consuming. But worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
For those who wish the consistency was less meat-loafy try pressing the meat once out of the oven and resting in the refrigerator. One can use cedar planks that will fit the inside of the form, wrap in plastic, set on top of the cooked meat and set a heavy object on top. Be aware that this will push some grease over the top so have something underneath to catch the over flow. Leave overnight in the fridge. This is will compact the meat and make it nice and tight. This is a traditional technique for making pate/terrines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
If you sometimes or all the time have a tight budget this recipe will be a great addition to your arsonal of recipes,its taste and preperation is wonderful! i recommend looking up a great tzaziki sauce to slather on your Gyros. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
This is excellent and the whole family loved it! Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Fresh is best! For those who thought this recipe was bland, use fresh ingredients and use garlic, salt and pepper to taste and you wont be disappointed. I recommend using Greek yogurt topping with tomatoes and pitas as well! The only thing I changed about this recipe is that I formed my loaf into 2 smaller loafs that were formed around skewers and cooked over a pan to catch the grease on the grill, (traditional Greek-style) turned out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
never in my wildest dreams did i think i'd find a recipe that so closely resembled street cart gyro deliciousness. this NAILED IT!!!!!!!!! Agree with other reviewers that food processing the meat, and straining the onions is key to good texture. we only let it rest a couple of hours before cooking, that was plenty of time for it to rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
This was not my cup of tea. I live in area where there are lots of greek and arabic resturants I have Gyro's from all different places, to think this recipe did not taste like any I have had. The thyme and rosemary over powered the taste, that was all I tasted even with tzatzki sauce. My husband loved it, he thought the flavors were awesome. If I made this again the thyme would be left out, the rosemary and cumin would be cut in half. I did like others and add 1 teaspoon of sea salt. I would also use 1/2 pound of lamb to 1 pound of beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
This is so tasty - I will definately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Traditional Indiana Breaded Tenderloin

Watch how to make this sandwich that is a favorite of Indiana residents.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States