Traditional Gyro Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I would have given this five stars, but I didn't have any lamb, so because of MY substitution, I didn't feel that it was right to do so....that having been said, this is an excellent recipe for gyros!! I made it as directed (minus the lamb) but instead of putting it into a loaf pan, I used my cookie scooper to make them into small balls, cooked them in a non-stick ceramic pan on med-high, flattenening them with a pancake turner and a measuring cup - I used the pyrex measuring cup to help flatten the patties into almost lacy-like 'things' not a pattie, not a slice, but the family loves them like this! It is a little more time consuming than making the loaf, but two of my children and my husband don't like the loaf slices (could be because they don't like meatloaf??) So, to keep peace, this is how I cook them. I make a tzatziki sauce with yogurt, garlic, lemon juice, and dried mint leaves, slice an onion and tomatoes, cut some pita and move out ot the way!! This makes a LOT of patties, so lunch for the next day is already made - that is if the leftovers don't disappear during the night.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarbear4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Bassett, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I didn't care for it, but my mother did. I thought the spice combination was odd, but other people liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly (except I added more salt) and it tasted wonderful but was very dry. Next time I will cook to medium, slice and finish the browning on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Excellent recipe! After baking we drain and put a foil covered brick on the loaf for about 30 min. then slice, fry and serve. This is very close to Alton Brown's version. PS, If you can't find ground lamb, see your butcher would double grind your beef and mix with ground pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I looked everywhere for ground lamb, but came up empty. I ended up using two lbs of ground chuck. While the flavor was great and did in fact remind me of gyro meat, the ground chuck just had the wrong texture. It was like meatloaf with gyro flavor. I'd like to try it again with lamb, hopefully it would give it the right texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
very dry and crumbly, not as flavorful as I would like. I think I'll stick to the gyro place in town.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Duvall, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Sorry this recipe is not at all spicy enough, really really bland, a HUGE disappointment, even with 8 times the salt, no flavor. I'd double all the spice or just skip the whole mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This worked fantastic! I suffered through with my little 2 cup food processor, but it cooked up like a dream and was super easy to slice and had great flavor! I did use 1t of salt and my grocery didn't have any ground lamb so just used all beef. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squarepear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ingalls, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This is very close to what you get in restuarants. I used only lamb; add some cardamon and left out the thyme. Also gound the spiced meat and formed it into a log shape wrapped tightly in plastic wrap & put in fridge for 3 hours. Then I put it on a kabob skewer laid it across a pan, tented with foil, baked it slowly . Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Wyrick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA
Living In: Booneville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Coming from the Detroit area and missing Greektown, I've been searching for a good gyro, but I can't find one. So I figured I’d make my own. This was a great recipe, which I modified a bit by combining with Alton Brown's version to create what I'm looking for. - . Taste: 9 out of 10; Texture: 9 out of 10 ; . - . Modifications: 1 whole medium onion; All Lamb; No Oregano (might try a bit next time); 1 tablespoon dried marjoram; 1 tablespoon ground dried rosemary; 1/4 teaspoon Thyme; 1/8 teaspoon Cumin; 2 teaspoons salt; . - . The end result didn’t suffer from some of the problems others are reporting (dry, loose texture, etc). - . Recommendations: After letting the meat rest (10-15 minutes), Slice the Gyros meat and place it under a HOT broiler to get the meat nicely browned/caramelized. You won’t regret it! . - . Save the drippings from cooking. This can be sprinkled over the meat while broiling. I used to gauge a good Gyro by how much it made you stink after eating it—literally, could you smell it coming out of your skin?. That’s Greektown Gyros! This modified recipe was excellent, but it needs a small kick from one of the ingredients to take it over the top. Just a bit more tinkering and I think it will be there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States