Traditional Gyro Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
I didn't have any marjoram so I had to leave it out. Will try it next time. I did follow some of the other recommendations regarding the salt. I ended up putting 2 teaspoons of sea salt and I liked it. The texture isn't quite like the gyros I get at the restaurant but overall it was quite tasty. I'll make it again and put it in my favorites list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherillynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bad Axe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Very good. I stuck to the recipe with a few exceptions. I only had 3/4 lb of ground lamb, so I also only used 3/4 lb of ground beef, but left measurements on the seasonings as the recipe calls for. The end result was tasty. This had a slightly different texture than restaurant gyros off that gigantic spit, a little more like a meatloaf texture, but it still held together when slicing it. Also, this seemed to be far less greasy than restaurant gyros, which is a plus. Thanks for sharing this recipe, I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
worth every bit of effort !!! I will no longer be traveling 25 miles for gyros!! ty done as recipe stated!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene Brennan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
We enjoyed this very much. Not bland at all! Real flavorful. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I enjoyed the flavor of this recipe a lot but don't have a food processor so the onions were too large. The consistancy would have been perfect if the onions and possibly the meat had been food processed too but it was still very good. I had to pour off the liquid several times but the "lamb" was actually from a ram that had had to be processed due to a broken leg so for obvious reasons was fattier. I didn't have a problem with the amount of salt but almost never cook with salt due to water retention. All my spices were very fresh so the spicing was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Not good at all.Waned something that sounded good and was very unhappy with results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steven Brown
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This is not gyro spiced meat. The spice is all wrong. IDK how to fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Made this for a greek dinner party for tonight with friends. I got Leg of Lamb and ground it up to use with the ground beef. As another reader suggested I used greek seasoning mix. (there were several to choose from but I only got the one with No MSG) Other then that and adding a little more salt and some garlic power, I followed all of the directions and It was FANTASTIC. Got excellent reviews from all the other families at the dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ang-in-GA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I've made this recipe twice now. The first time it was very bland. The second time I doubled all the spices and increased the salt to 1 1/2 teaspoons. After chilling and slicing I put the slices under the broiler until they started to crisp. It was much better the second time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
This was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States