Traditional Gyro Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
First let me state that I do not have a food processor, so it was chopped by hand (a tedious process) and this could be part of the reason to my dislike of it. It was flavorless, dry, and I would never make it again. If you have a food processor, maybe the taste will be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
Didn't use marjoram, rosemary or thyme and instead added allspice and coriander to the recipe. Very similar flavors to what we eat here in Europe. I shaped the ground meat mixture into oblong shapes and bbq'd them instead of cooking on a loaf pan. Saves much time and mess. Served with thinly sliced red onion, crumbled feta, sliced tomatoes and tzatziki sauce on flat bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dragonlady

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Not quite restaurant flavor - but is good if you want to make it at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Very good recipe - but agree - needs some more salt for sure ~ I will certainly make this again and I will definitely be adding all sorts of yummy spices! I really had to drain off the liquid a bit more, but well worth it. I used a loaf pan, so the cooking time was longer, but it worked just as good. I will be making this with pita and tzatziki for dinner - BUT I will definitely take the advise of others an grill the meat quickly first! :) Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Not good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Taste great and family loved it. Needed more salt, and I cover cooked it just little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nygirlatheart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uniondale, New York, USA
Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
I didn't have any marjoram so I had to leave it out. Will try it next time. I did follow some of the other recommendations regarding the salt. I ended up putting 2 teaspoons of sea salt and I liked it. The texture isn't quite like the gyros I get at the restaurant but overall it was quite tasty. I'll make it again and put it in my favorites list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherillynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bad Axe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Very good. I stuck to the recipe with a few exceptions. I only had 3/4 lb of ground lamb, so I also only used 3/4 lb of ground beef, but left measurements on the seasonings as the recipe calls for. The end result was tasty. This had a slightly different texture than restaurant gyros off that gigantic spit, a little more like a meatloaf texture, but it still held together when slicing it. Also, this seemed to be far less greasy than restaurant gyros, which is a plus. Thanks for sharing this recipe, I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
worth every bit of effort !!! I will no longer be traveling 25 miles for gyros!! ty done as recipe stated!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene Brennan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
We enjoyed this very much. Not bland at all! Real flavorful. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 31-40 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States