Traditional Gyro Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
So delicious! The aroma out of the oven reminded me of the Greek restaurants we miss so much! Make sure you salt to your own taste is my only suggestions. Make fresh taziki sauce and good pita bread too of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I agree the prep was a little time consuming. Everyone loved it BUT I expected more flavor and will tweak the spice next time. My ONLY issue with this was attempting to shave the loaf rather than slice hunks of meat for the gyros. Does anyone have suggestions to shave the loaf more like a Greek restaurant does from the cone of meat?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
This recipe is awesome, I love it! I am going to use it every time my family craves the back home taste for gyros. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shante

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield Gardens, New York, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This recipe is perfect. A nice way to make gyros at home and not use the "not so good" processed gyro strips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Absolutely amazing, this was my first try at gyros and it turned out identical to, if not better than, the ones I've had from food trucks. I'll be making this a lot more often to satisfying the cravings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I made this with the ground meat and didn't turn into the meatloaf style. It was great! I made it with the lamb and ground turkey but cooked it with the spices and beef broth and a bit of green onion. I left the rest of the recipe the same. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Easy and delicious. Took me home to Chicago for a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I did not care for this recipe. Too dry. Followed the directions to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Lee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Best ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvone Rush Rice

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
This dish is among the best flavored gyro meat I've tasted. However the texture was off and nearly impossible to slice thin. After I sliced from the cooked loaf, I browned the slices in a pan with EVOO. This made a more familiar texture. Everyone enjoyed this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeremy Dunn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rickman, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States