Traditional Gyro Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
A food processor would've been helpful for sure, but incredibly yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I made this tonight and it was wonderful. The only thing I did different is added more garlic and after slicing the meat,I fried them before serving. It was very good and tasted just like what you would get in a restaurant. I think letting the meat set longer then 2hours would be even better. I will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
The water bath keeps it moist ,I altered it (garlic garlic garlic and garlic salt ) but the the recipe is flawless cheers .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Changed a few things after reading ALL the reviews. 2lbs lean meat and 4tsp salt was too much. I used 2 tsp Italian seasoning 2tsp of Oregano 2tbsp garlic, no onion. I didn't use a food processor...don't have one. I pressed the meat in to a square pan VERY firmly. Baked it for 45 min. After cooling completely I was able to slice it fairly thin. Far less hassle, despite it being too salty, it was very good. I paired it off with the sweet sauce and it was as good as take out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela MacDonald

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Great recipe! I've been eating homemade gyros all week and loving it. I made the recipe exactly as written (but added a bit more salt based on reviews). Prep was simple. My food processor is small so had to do that in batches, but the consistency is worth it. Sliced it thin, and browned it in a non-greased, non-stick skillet. Perfection! You get a ton of meat if sliced thinly -- I will take this to my next party and serve on mini pitas for an appetizer to share, served with tomatoes and Tzatziki Sauce II from this site, which was also good (but if you make it, halve the recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I was kind of disappointed. I had previously tried a different recipe and I guess I should have stuck with it. I did not read the reviews before I made it. Mistake. I use very little salt but this definitely needs more. I wish I had skipped the thyme. Way too much. Definitely should have taken it out before 165 degrees. I hate we'll done meat but I know that many people like it well cooked. I like the recipe with the egg, this was too dry. Granted I did not use beef and lamb but still very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
My family loved it (they didn't want to try it since they haven't liked gyros before). I ended up using 93% lean ground beef and ground turkey. Made homemade tzatziki. This is a keeper...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This was a great recipe for American gyro meat. Make sure you use all of the spices otherwise you won't get the correct gyro flavor. It'd be like making spaghetti sauce with no oregano. My wife does not eat lamb so the beef/lamb combo was out. I risked it all and used 1 pound of turkey and 1 pound of pork. It turned out great, but be warned, gyro spices are the same used in breakfast sausage. Since I used turkey/pork I basically made breakfast sausage sliced like gyro meat. I also did not hand mix and let sit then for 2 hours and then process it in the food processor. I just tossed everything in the food processor, processed it, stuck it in the pan and then let the pan sit in the fridge for two hours so that when I went to cook it everything was already cleaned up. When it was time to cook I followed the instructions of placing it on a towel in a bigger pan with water. This is required to keep the temperature on the outside of the gyro pan not more than 210 degress. If you want more of an authentic gyro meat you need to put in chunks of fat and some meat cubes after you process the meat in the food processor and then fry the slices after you cut them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
The recipe was good, my meat was a little dry inside but a lot of fat on the ouside and I double the amount of salt and still felt it was a little low, don't forget to grind all your spice and next time I will try only with lamb like alton brown to see the diferents. I didn't get the street flavor from New york that I was looking for but not bad for my first gyros at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Traditional Indiana Breaded Tenderloin

Watch how to make this sandwich that is a favorite of Indiana residents.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States