Traditional Gyro Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
I like to make this ahead of time and then grill the slices before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAForster

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This was excellent! Easy to make. Didn't change a thing about the recipe. Sliced it on an angle, very thin and it looked almost like we had just cut it off the "spit". Found a good recipe for pita bread also on another site so made that to go with it. Sure beats the store bought pita bread. Also used the easy cucumber sauce from this site. All in all it was a grrrreat meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FrackFamily5
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
This was good. I had to cook the meat for about 30 minutes longer than what was stated- and I am not sure why. For the last 10 minutes I increased the temp to 345. After slicing, I fried the meat in a skillet until browned so it was more like the restaurant version. The flavor was really good. Goes great with Greek Tzatziki from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
This didn't come out like I was hoping. I don't have a food processor, so I'm wondering if that step made a significant difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schasel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I had a craving for gryos last week but have never attempted to make them at home. This recipe is really easy and very good. They tasted very similar to gyros I have had at greek restaurants. The prep is a little timely and I actually didn't have the time to let the meat sit in the refrigerator before putting it in the oven and I was impressed at the flavor the meat had. The only thing I did different is I added 1/2 tsp. allspice per another recipe and did not use thyme. Another recipe called for 1/2 tsp coriander but I didn't have it and will probably add that next time. My picky husband loved the meat and actually ate it leftover and he NEVER eats leftovers. I will definitely make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
240 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plainfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Excellent! I made this recipe using a few modifications. I deleted the marjoram because I didnt' have any and I upped the garlic to 4 cloves. I know that it sounds like a lot, but I love garlic and it totally worked. I also upped the salt as well. Not sure exactly how much I used, but it was more than the recipe called for. Not much, but I actually wanted it to taste salty like the gyros that you'd get from a restaurant. One more thing I did was grill it on the barbeque outside. I started it wrapped in foil and after 20 mins ( I turned it to ensure even cooking during this time) I took the foil off and grilled it on the open grill. It was WONDERFUL! Not exactly like what you'd get at a gyro place, but pretty close. All of my friends couldn't believe that I made them at home. To answer the reviewer who wondered whether or not the food processor makes a difference, I have to say that it definitely does! Processing the meat till it's paste-like makes a HUGE difference! the texture is completely different than it would have been if I'd just left it as it was. I gave it 4 start because of the mods I made to it, but I really liked this recipe and I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anita

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago Heights, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Awesome!!! I can't wait to make this for our Sunday family dinner (I married Greek.) I took the suggestion to grill slices after baking--next time I think I will just chill and grill. Also I'll add more salt but that is just me--I love this recipe thanks (and also I love your picture--great!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Eh I had problems with this recipe. I followed it exactly but in the end it resembled meatloaf, not gyro meat. I put it in the food processor and let it do its thing but it kept wading up into balls and not chopping...I dunno why I had problems with this...it was good...but not gyros :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baby Potsticker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA
Photo by kris
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This was easy to make and also tastes very close to what I get at the restaurant. I upped the salt to a teaspoon, though, as I thought 1/4 tsp would have left the meat bland. Mine took longer to cook than the directions stated. I found that a paper towel was an excellent way to squeeze the water from the onions. The onions came right out and did not stick to the paper towel and then I only had to throw the paper towel away for easy clean-up. The next time I make this meat, I'll save the juice that bakes off and cover the meat with it in the fridge to keep it moist. Live and learn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I have to say, after making this I just couldn't eat it. My husband, however, loved it. I did take one bite and it was really flavorful but just too gamey for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARAWVU

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: South Charleston, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Traditional Indiana Breaded Tenderloin

Watch how to make this sandwich that is a favorite of Indiana residents.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States