Traditional Gyro Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Remembered that SNL skit, "Hub's Gyros" today and immediately craved these. This is WONDERFUL and DIVINE meat! Like others, we left out the marjoram, as our local Kroger didn't have it and used an extra clove of garlic and 1 tsp kosher salt. **The most important part of this recipe is to food process/blend up the meat.** It gives it a texture that is tender and to die for and makes a perfect loaf. Do NOT skip this vital step. We used the blender, small amounts of meat at a time and it came out outstanding. We also did let it sit in the fridge for about 2 hrs (was only going to do one hour, but forgot about it) and the sauce (see other recipe for Tzatziki Sauce) chilled in the fridge while the meat cooked. This meal couldn't have been timed out any better. It was super easy (we are in our early 20s) and I will definitely, definitely make this again. Once it began cooking, the smell that filled the house was exactly what I was craving. I got so high off this meal and we only ate one a piece. Very, very filling. We ate the meat with the tzatziki sauce, fresh tomato, sauteed onions on Kangaroo pita flatbread. I am so happy we have leftovers. I will be eating this again tomorrow. **make sure to process the meat to get the texture!!**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by celerygeneral

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centralia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Wow, this was sooo good! I'm really glad I found this recipe. I never imagined I could make a gyro as good as a Greek restaurant and this really turned out great. I did add more salt to the meat, though because that is what our taste is accustomed, but the spices were spot on. To complete the meal I made a good tzaziki dressing and homemade pitas (easy with my bread maker) and served with lettuce and tomato. What a great meal! I've made this twice so far and it will be a regular in our kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
As the recipe is, I found the seasonings were a little bit overpowering, and it needed more salt & pepper. But, it's a great base - next time I know what to add, and what to hold back on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Came out good. Took someones advise after cutting thin slices putting on skillet and browning before putting in gyro
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
We loved this. I used 1/2 lamb & 1/2 ground venison. Also, I cheated. I replaced the dried spices with a total of 3T greek seasoning (which has all that stuff in it) plus more salt. Used paper towel to drain onion, then combined & baked as directed. After cooling, I sliced thinly then browned slices in a skillet to serve. Looks & tastes just like the gyro places we frequent and my friends are super jealous that I can make my own! Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
This recipe produced the best gyros we have ever tasted. Better than any restaurant! It is a little bit of effort but SO worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honora Pieras

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This was wonderful and low carb! I made it as listed except I doubled the salt as stated in other reviews and it was perfect. I processed it all and pressed it into an 8x8 baking dish and then let it rest in the fridge for 2 hours, it came together quicker this way. Then I baked it on convection setting for 30 minutes and it was done and very easy to slice into strips. Froze half after slicing for a quick dinner later. One loaf is 6-8 dinner sized servings, perfect to portion and freeze. I will be making this gyro loaf a couple times a month now, SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This recipe was not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
This was off the hook! Im a big gyro fan and hate paying an arm and a leg for it. I added extra garlic and salt per other reviews, and subbed onion powder for onion for the kiddos. I also did not process the meat. Flavor was spot on...even my 9 and 15 year old were highly impressed. Served it with tzatziki from this site, and a greek salad. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April N.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
This was fantastic but I made several alterations : 1) I used 1 lb lamb and 1 lb buffalo (the buffalo is leaner than hamburger and the lamb is fatty enough to compensate), 2) we added lots of extra seasoning and 3) we baked it in an 8/8 pan with an X cut on top, this brought the cooking time down to 30 mins and made slicing thin long pieces much easier 4) we pan fried the slices to get a rich browned flavor DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States