Traditional Gyro Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I grew up next to a Greek restaurant and this is the closest to what I knew to be authentic. WONDERFUL combo on spices. I added a smidge extra salt. The cumin and rosemary meld to give it that smokey/flowery flavor that many Gyro recipes are lacking. I did add One pound of ground pork and it came out better than without. Many traditional Gyro recipes use pork so I thought I would try it. Awesome idea, adds bulk and the fat emulsifies the rest of the meat and spices into the desired paste consistency you need. We put ours on Naan bread w/ lettuce, tomatoe, feta, onion and tzaziki sauce. My family cannot get enough of this..I've made prob 6 loaves in the past month. So good I had to go reheat me one while writing this review lol Oh and it makes really easy, fast leftovers. Sear in a pan for a min and assemble...Viola !! Thanks for the deeelish dish !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Nice blend of flavors; however, it needed more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This is EXACTLY what I was looking for!! I made Peppy's Pita and Tzatziki Sauce II from this site. Kinda a lot of work for a gyro, but it was SO worth it! I let the leftovers cool overnight in the fridge and portioned out meat and pitas into freezer bags for future meals. DEFINITELY will make again! Thank you for the amazing recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Not a fan. Definitely needed more of the herbs and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I THOUGHT THIS RECIPE WAS WONDERFUL. I WILL BE MAKING THESE ALL THE TIME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIM ROSS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Tried this because I wanted a different meat loaf. It was awesome. Will have it as my go to recipe for church potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Tasted ok. What I liked was that it did have the flavor of a gyro. What I didn't care for was the texture. Since it had no breadcrumbs, I didn't think it would be *that* meatloaf-ish, but it was. I also pan fried the pieces (as some reviewers suggested) but it didn't do it for me. I don't think I'll make this another time, but if I did, I would use a smaller amount of lamb meat - probably .5 lbs and 1.5 beef - because I felt like the lamb was a bit strong. Also, I thought it could have used more salt. But that could have been because I used sea salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HRBabe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
1st attempt at gyro meat, turned out perfect. Went well with Tzatziki Sauce and mixed green salad w/ thinly sliced onion, tomato and olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA
Living In: Edgewood, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
The seasonings for this were dead on, the meat combination wasn't. I did the lamb and ground beef combo, the lamb taste covered some of the seasoning taste and the hamburger taste. But I do think if I used 3 pounds of hamburger rather then 1 pound that it would fix the problem. Gyro meat does not have the over whelming lamb taste to it, if anyones had lamb it's a strong meat. Might be fine if you were to use just hamburger since most non authentic gyro places do use thin slices of beef instead. Just wanted to let people no that the meat combo doesn't work, the lamb takes over the taste of everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Very good I love this recipe the first time I over cooked it but ,I learned from it so second time it was perfect.thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veronica

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States