Traditional Gyro Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This was wonderful and low carb! I made it as listed except I doubled the salt as stated in other reviews and it was perfect. I processed it all and pressed it into an 8x8 baking dish and then let it rest in the fridge for 2 hours, it came together quicker this way. Then I baked it on convection setting for 30 minutes and it was done and very easy to slice into strips. Froze half after slicing for a quick dinner later. One loaf is 6-8 dinner sized servings, perfect to portion and freeze. I will be making this gyro loaf a couple times a month now, SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This recipe was not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
This was off the hook! Im a big gyro fan and hate paying an arm and a leg for it. I added extra garlic and salt per other reviews, and subbed onion powder for onion for the kiddos. I also did not process the meat. Flavor was spot on...even my 9 and 15 year old were highly impressed. Served it with tzatziki from this site, and a greek salad. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April N.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
This was fantastic but I made several alterations : 1) I used 1 lb lamb and 1 lb buffalo (the buffalo is leaner than hamburger and the lamb is fatty enough to compensate), 2) we added lots of extra seasoning and 3) we baked it in an 8/8 pan with an X cut on top, this brought the cooking time down to 30 mins and made slicing thin long pieces much easier 4) we pan fried the slices to get a rich browned flavor DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I grew up next to a Greek restaurant and this is the closest to what I knew to be authentic. WONDERFUL combo on spices. I added a smidge extra salt. The cumin and rosemary meld to give it that smokey/flowery flavor that many Gyro recipes are lacking. I did add One pound of ground pork and it came out better than without. Many traditional Gyro recipes use pork so I thought I would try it. Awesome idea, adds bulk and the fat emulsifies the rest of the meat and spices into the desired paste consistency you need. We put ours on Naan bread w/ lettuce, tomatoe, feta, onion and tzaziki sauce. My family cannot get enough of this..I've made prob 6 loaves in the past month. So good I had to go reheat me one while writing this review lol Oh and it makes really easy, fast leftovers. Sear in a pan for a min and assemble...Viola !! Thanks for the deeelish dish !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Nice blend of flavors; however, it needed more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This is EXACTLY what I was looking for!! I made Peppy's Pita and Tzatziki Sauce II from this site. Kinda a lot of work for a gyro, but it was SO worth it! I let the leftovers cool overnight in the fridge and portioned out meat and pitas into freezer bags for future meals. DEFINITELY will make again! Thank you for the amazing recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Not a fan. Definitely needed more of the herbs and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I THOUGHT THIS RECIPE WAS WONDERFUL. I WILL BE MAKING THESE ALL THE TIME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIM ROSS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Tried this because I wanted a different meat loaf. It was awesome. Will have it as my go to recipe for church potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a Paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States