Traditional Gyro Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Excellent recipe! After baking we drain and put a foil covered brick on the loaf for about 30 min. then slice, fry and serve. This is very close to Alton Brown's version. PS, If you can't find ground lamb, see your butcher would double grind your beef and mix with ground pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I looked everywhere for ground lamb, but came up empty. I ended up using two lbs of ground chuck. While the flavor was great and did in fact remind me of gyro meat, the ground chuck just had the wrong texture. It was like meatloaf with gyro flavor. I'd like to try it again with lamb, hopefully it would give it the right texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
very dry and crumbly, not as flavorful as I would like. I think I'll stick to the gyro place in town.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Duvall, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Sorry this recipe is not at all spicy enough, really really bland, a HUGE disappointment, even with 8 times the salt, no flavor. I'd double all the spice or just skip the whole mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This worked fantastic! I suffered through with my little 2 cup food processor, but it cooked up like a dream and was super easy to slice and had great flavor! I did use 1t of salt and my grocery didn't have any ground lamb so just used all beef. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squarepear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ingalls, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This is very close to what you get in restuarants. I used only lamb; add some cardamon and left out the thyme. Also gound the spiced meat and formed it into a log shape wrapped tightly in plastic wrap & put in fridge for 3 hours. Then I put it on a kabob skewer laid it across a pan, tented with foil, baked it slowly . Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA
Living In: Booneville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Coming from the Detroit area and missing Greektown, I've been searching for a good gyro, but I can't find one. So I figured I’d make my own. This was a great recipe, which I modified a bit by combining with Alton Brown's version to create what I'm looking for. - . Taste: 9 out of 10; Texture: 9 out of 10 ; . - . Modifications: 1 whole medium onion; All Lamb; No Oregano (might try a bit next time); 1 tablespoon dried marjoram; 1 tablespoon ground dried rosemary; 1/4 teaspoon Thyme; 1/8 teaspoon Cumin; 2 teaspoons salt; . - . The end result didn’t suffer from some of the problems others are reporting (dry, loose texture, etc). - . Recommendations: After letting the meat rest (10-15 minutes), Slice the Gyros meat and place it under a HOT broiler to get the meat nicely browned/caramelized. You won’t regret it! . - . Save the drippings from cooking. This can be sprinkled over the meat while broiling. I used to gauge a good Gyro by how much it made you stink after eating it—literally, could you smell it coming out of your skin?. That’s Greektown Gyros! This modified recipe was excellent, but it needs a small kick from one of the ingredients to take it over the top. Just a bit more tinkering and I think it will be there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Made this exactly as written, except we only let it sit in the fridge for about an hour. We forgot that it needed to sit and started making this at dinner time, so we couldn't really wait the full two hours. Served it on flat bread with tomatoes, onions and tzazki sauce...was wonderful! Really hit the spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
A++ I'd never made gyro meat before, but thought I'd like to try. I follwed the recipe using beef & pork, but I didn't have marjoram, and I did increase the salt to 1/2 tsp as other reviwers suggested. When I baked it, I placed a piece of foil over the meat and put another loaf pan full of hot water on it for about half of the baking time, since some of the reviews stated that it was important to keep it compressed. Half way though I took the extra weight and the foil off, to let the meat brown up, seemed to work perfectly for me, I didn't put a weight on it after I took it out of the oven. My husband had this for dinner on Sat night, breakfast on Sun morning and also lunch on Sun... I'd say it was a hit. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Very good, mine tasted 80-90% like the real thing. I did what people suggested and pan sear each piece of meat prior to making each gyro. If I do again I will make 4x the amount of meat and slice/freeze it, as it is a little time consuming. But worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Traditional Indiana Breaded Tenderloin

Watch how to make this sandwich that is a favorite of Indiana residents.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States