Traditional Gyro Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This is not gyro spiced meat. The spice is all wrong. IDK how to fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Made this for a greek dinner party for tonight with friends. I got Leg of Lamb and ground it up to use with the ground beef. As another reader suggested I used greek seasoning mix. (there were several to choose from but I only got the one with No MSG) Other then that and adding a little more salt and some garlic power, I followed all of the directions and It was FANTASTIC. Got excellent reviews from all the other families at the dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ang-in-GA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I've made this recipe twice now. The first time it was very bland. The second time I doubled all the spices and increased the salt to 1 1/2 teaspoons. After chilling and slicing I put the slices under the broiler until they started to crisp. It was much better the second time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
This was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
This is GREAT! Tastes traditional to me. I followed the recipe exactly, except for the baking temp. I had to raise it to 375 to get the internal meat temp to 165. I paired it with Tzatziki Sauce from Debnjames from this site. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amberkaye

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
It was ok. Bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rspoiledyorkies
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
This recipe is the real deal! So flavorful and moist. My first time making gyro meat. The smell and taste are dead on. I used a 7x13 shallow glass dish so that the pieces would be more like what you get at restaurants (see photos). I did much of the recipe as stated but did add an extra lb of beef and an extra half batch of spices to make more at once and I was worried about it being to "lamby". Turned out fantastic!! This amount was PERFECT for the 7x11 pan. I let mine cool overnight in fridge and then cut it into thin slices using an electric carving knife. The slices came out perfect. I have added 2 photos - one is while I was cutting (you can see the loaf and some slices), the other photo is when I had them crisping up on the flat top. I will make this over and over! Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Just ate this and goodness, it is pretty darn close to what you can buy from a vendor! I made the meat mixture as stated, but DID NOT blend in a blender, and the meat "loaf" was fine after baking. I let the loaf sit for 2-3 hours, then baked at 325 for just over an hour (until the internal temp jived with the meat thermometer at 77 degrees F). Baked in a water bath (pan underneath my small loaf pan had hot water in it--this was per another recipe and seemed to keep the loaf from getting a hard crust). Refrigerated the baked loaf overnight. Sliced into thin slices and heated the meat up in a frying pan with 1 tsp. of canola oil, browing the meat. Served with grilled pita bread (did this in a separate frying pan), tzaziki sauce, and a mixture of chopped lettuce, red onion, tomato chunks, and chopped cucumber slices. Sprinkled a little spice blend on top of the prepared gyro (1 tsp. paprika, 1/2 tsp. garlic salt, 1/2 tsp cumin, and 1/2 tsp. sage). Added some feta, then rolled the gyro up! So YUMMY!!! The tzaziki sauce I used is from the Easy Chicken Gyro recipe on this site (by KarenCanCook), which was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by AimeeRN
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
wow, this turned out really great. it was easy to make in the food processor, and I was intrigued with the baking method but followed the directions and it turned out great! I wish I could slice it as thin as you get it at Greek restaurants, but even though I couldn't, it did stay together well while I sliced it as thinly as I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Very good but time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a Paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States