Traditional Gyro Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
This was my first attempt at making Gyros at home, and I wasn't able to get the clean slices, it came out in crumbly pieces like a meat loaf. It tasted like a meat loaf too, Of course I didn't let the seasonings sit in the meat, and I have a junky food processor, although I thought the meat seemed tacky when I put it in. Next time I will let the seasonings sit longer and use a better food processor, also will add more salt as that seems to be a running suggestion here. Still a decent meal. 4 Stars because it was still a good meal, even if I am way far off from actually having tasty Gyros because of my own faults. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
The flavors are definitely there but for some reason I thought mine came out a little dry (maybe the type of burger I used) and it did take a little while to make. Because of this and the fact that hubby is not really a big gyro fan I probably won't make it again but I would suggest that others try it as it may be worth it for you make instead of going out for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
First let me state that I do not have a food processor, so it was chopped by hand (a tedious process) and this could be part of the reason to my dislike of it. It was flavorless, dry, and I would never make it again. If you have a food processor, maybe the taste will be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
Didn't use marjoram, rosemary or thyme and instead added allspice and coriander to the recipe. Very similar flavors to what we eat here in Europe. I shaped the ground meat mixture into oblong shapes and bbq'd them instead of cooking on a loaf pan. Saves much time and mess. Served with thinly sliced red onion, crumbled feta, sliced tomatoes and tzatziki sauce on flat bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dragonlady

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Not quite restaurant flavor - but is good if you want to make it at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Very good recipe - but agree - needs some more salt for sure ~ I will certainly make this again and I will definitely be adding all sorts of yummy spices! I really had to drain off the liquid a bit more, but well worth it. I used a loaf pan, so the cooking time was longer, but it worked just as good. I will be making this with pita and tzatziki for dinner - BUT I will definitely take the advise of others an grill the meat quickly first! :) Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Not good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Taste great and family loved it. Needed more salt, and I cover cooked it just little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nygirlatheart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uniondale, New York, USA
Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
I didn't have any marjoram so I had to leave it out. Will try it next time. I did follow some of the other recommendations regarding the salt. I ended up putting 2 teaspoons of sea salt and I liked it. The texture isn't quite like the gyros I get at the restaurant but overall it was quite tasty. I'll make it again and put it in my favorites list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherillynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bad Axe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Very good. I stuck to the recipe with a few exceptions. I only had 3/4 lb of ground lamb, so I also only used 3/4 lb of ground beef, but left measurements on the seasonings as the recipe calls for. The end result was tasty. This had a slightly different texture than restaurant gyros off that gigantic spit, a little more like a meatloaf texture, but it still held together when slicing it. Also, this seemed to be far less greasy than restaurant gyros, which is a plus. Thanks for sharing this recipe, I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Traditional Indiana Breaded Tenderloin

Watch how to make this sandwich that is a favorite of Indiana residents.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States