Traditional Gyro Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This was a great recipe for American gyro meat. Make sure you use all of the spices otherwise you won't get the correct gyro flavor. It'd be like making spaghetti sauce with no oregano. My wife does not eat lamb so the beef/lamb combo was out. I risked it all and used 1 pound of turkey and 1 pound of pork. It turned out great, but be warned, gyro spices are the same used in breakfast sausage. Since I used turkey/pork I basically made breakfast sausage sliced like gyro meat. I also did not hand mix and let sit then for 2 hours and then process it in the food processor. I just tossed everything in the food processor, processed it, stuck it in the pan and then let the pan sit in the fridge for two hours so that when I went to cook it everything was already cleaned up. When it was time to cook I followed the instructions of placing it on a towel in a bigger pan with water. This is required to keep the temperature on the outside of the gyro pan not more than 210 degress. If you want more of an authentic gyro meat you need to put in chunks of fat and some meat cubes after you process the meat in the food processor and then fry the slices after you cut them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
The recipe was good, my meat was a little dry inside but a lot of fat on the ouside and I double the amount of salt and still felt it was a little low, don't forget to grind all your spice and next time I will try only with lamb like alton brown to see the diferents. I didn't get the street flavor from New york that I was looking for but not bad for my first gyros at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
This wasn't even close. The meat tasted and felt like a dried meatloaf with no flavoring. I followed the recipe exactly - I even bought expensive ground lamb. I wasted my money. I used it for gyros, but even the other flavors in the pita didn't help. Gyros are a family favorite and I thought this recipe might be one that would let us make them at home. We'll stick to restaurant gyros from now on - it's cheaper, easier and tastes a whole lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hickory, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
This was slightly bland I agree with the rest of the reviewers. I didnt have the marjoram either so I used 1 tsp of poultry seasoning since it has alot of the same spices, upped the garlic, salt and a good squeeze of lemon juice. It took me quite a while in the food processor to get it mixed well and paste like too. I baked mine for 1 hr and 15 mins, drained and then let it rest and cool down..sliced it thin and since I didnt want to fiddle with a grill I then fried in some butter in a pan and it was nice n crispy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
This was my first attempt at making Gyros at home, and I wasn't able to get the clean slices, it came out in crumbly pieces like a meat loaf. It tasted like a meat loaf too, Of course I didn't let the seasonings sit in the meat, and I have a junky food processor, although I thought the meat seemed tacky when I put it in. Next time I will let the seasonings sit longer and use a better food processor, also will add more salt as that seems to be a running suggestion here. Still a decent meal. 4 Stars because it was still a good meal, even if I am way far off from actually having tasty Gyros because of my own faults. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
The flavors are definitely there but for some reason I thought mine came out a little dry (maybe the type of burger I used) and it did take a little while to make. Because of this and the fact that hubby is not really a big gyro fan I probably won't make it again but I would suggest that others try it as it may be worth it for you make instead of going out for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
First let me state that I do not have a food processor, so it was chopped by hand (a tedious process) and this could be part of the reason to my dislike of it. It was flavorless, dry, and I would never make it again. If you have a food processor, maybe the taste will be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
Didn't use marjoram, rosemary or thyme and instead added allspice and coriander to the recipe. Very similar flavors to what we eat here in Europe. I shaped the ground meat mixture into oblong shapes and bbq'd them instead of cooking on a loaf pan. Saves much time and mess. Served with thinly sliced red onion, crumbled feta, sliced tomatoes and tzatziki sauce on flat bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dragonlady

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Not quite restaurant flavor - but is good if you want to make it at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Very good recipe - but agree - needs some more salt for sure ~ I will certainly make this again and I will definitely be adding all sorts of yummy spices! I really had to drain off the liquid a bit more, but well worth it. I used a loaf pan, so the cooking time was longer, but it worked just as good. I will be making this with pita and tzatziki for dinner - BUT I will definitely take the advise of others an grill the meat quickly first! :) Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States