Traditional Gyro Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I NEVER rate recipes or leave comments on here, but I LOVED LOVED LOVED this. I had a serious craving for gyros and this really hit the spot! Plus, I was able to cut back on a few calories here and there with my own little changes. This I will definitely make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikki_26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prospect, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Very good, although a little on the dry side. Went great with the cucumber sauce recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa C

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Not exactly like the gyro from a restaurant but I'll take it - since we don't have any gyro joints where we live! to cook it, we lined a roasting pan with a kitchen towel in an inch of water and put the loaf in it. then fried it in a pan to make it a little drier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hope's Mom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Kailua Kona, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
The picture was so gorgeous I had to try these. Couldn't find lamb here anywhere, so I decided to try just using beef. Turned out great anyway! I don't like cumin so I skipped that. I also didn't regrind and process the meat before i cooked it. I will do that next time so that it hopefully will slice better. I put in a little bit of Italian style bread crumbs because all the commercial recipes use it. It was just great. tasted just like every great gyro always tastes. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
This recipe works well. My only comment would be the amount of salt listed is way to low! I would at least double it... Just my $0.02
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This is pretty tasty - I thought it was a lot of work at first, and slightly (just slightly) dry. But the flavor is wonderful. The fact that my I had terrible quality pitas definitely did not help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Great Recipe, just what I was looking for when I was craving a gyro!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This is the 3rd time that I've made this recipe, and I keep reminding myself that I need to double, or triple, to freeze some for later, b/c truthfully, it is a little time consuming to prepare. Of course, I add a 5th step by either grilling the gyro slices or browning them in EVOO in the skillet prior to serving them. The only thing that I've ever changed is subbing ground turkey for beef, and up'ing the salt; otherwise, same ingredients, same directions, same outstanding results. We eat ours over baby greens w/ feta, tzatziki, olives, red onions, tomatoes, and cucumber slices, w/ warm pitas on the side. /drool/ Keeps me from having to drive 15 miles to the nearest Greek joint for gyros! Thanks Dread Pirate, and p.s. love your profile pic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
ok.. i followed the directions but this did not turn out like "traditional" gyro meat, but rather a meat loaf that tasted like gryo meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This was wonderful!!!The only thing I did different was to refrigerate the cooked loaf overnight, then slice it thin and griddle the slices. Delicioso!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hunnylover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a Paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States