Traditional Gyro Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Tried this because I wanted a different meat loaf. It was awesome. Will have it as my go to recipe for church potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Tasted ok. What I liked was that it did have the flavor of a gyro. What I didn't care for was the texture. Since it had no breadcrumbs, I didn't think it would be *that* meatloaf-ish, but it was. I also pan fried the pieces (as some reviewers suggested) but it didn't do it for me. I don't think I'll make this another time, but if I did, I would use a smaller amount of lamb meat - probably .5 lbs and 1.5 beef - because I felt like the lamb was a bit strong. Also, I thought it could have used more salt. But that could have been because I used sea salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HRBabe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
1st attempt at gyro meat, turned out perfect. Went well with Tzatziki Sauce and mixed green salad w/ thinly sliced onion, tomato and olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA
Living In: Edgewood, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
The seasonings for this were dead on, the meat combination wasn't. I did the lamb and ground beef combo, the lamb taste covered some of the seasoning taste and the hamburger taste. But I do think if I used 3 pounds of hamburger rather then 1 pound that it would fix the problem. Gyro meat does not have the over whelming lamb taste to it, if anyones had lamb it's a strong meat. Might be fine if you were to use just hamburger since most non authentic gyro places do use thin slices of beef instead. Just wanted to let people no that the meat combo doesn't work, the lamb takes over the taste of everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Very good I love this recipe the first time I over cooked it but ,I learned from it so second time it was perfect.thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veronica

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
This was delicious and passed muster with my husband who had a hankering for some mediterranean fare the other night. My one critique would be that it was a little dry, but then, maybe the meat I selected was a bit lean. All in all, a great recipe though. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I made this tonight for dinner. My son and husband both liked it, although my picky husband said that he thought it tasted like meatloaf on pita bread (haaa... I will keep trying with him.) My son and I thought it tased like the gyros we buy here in the bay area. Did use an electric knife to slice it really thin and browned the slices in a skillet with a very little bit of olive oil. I brushed the pita bread with a very light coat of olive oil before I heated them in another skillet. We ate with red onion, lettuce and tomato. I used a recipe from this web site for tzaziki. Great dinner. Oh, I doubled the recipe so that I could freeze one loaf for another dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Lacked flavor and pretty dry. We love gyros, so may try again using some suggestions by others. The homemade pita bread was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Decent recipe. I put in a whole onion and used two pounds of lamb instead of a beef/lamb mixture. I also added a 1/2 cup of bread crumbs to give it a meatloaf texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I was quite pleased with the result. Thankyou.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanz1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arnold, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States