Traditional French Canadian Tourtiere Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
This is the authentic recipe for tortiere a la Quebecois. It had been several years since I had enjoyed this traditional Christmas Eve fare prepared by my mother-in-law in Laval Quebec, and it tasted just as I remembered it. French Canadians usually add a dollup of ketchup on the side when served, at least, my in-laws did. Somehow the spices come alive with the addition. This is as French Canadian as it gets. For a moister pie, use twice as much ground pork as ground beef in your recipe, and try a dab of ketchup on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Was just like the pie's I would buy at the farmers market loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
The liquid chicken seasoning I use is Knorr's Bovril which is a bouillon concentrate. Available in Canada although I don't know about the USofA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
My girlfriend and I made 6 of these Tourtiere's and they were exactly like our mom's would make them. Perfect for us first timers learning how to make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Laroche

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
My mom's recipe greatly resembles this one but she always used savory and sage as her herbs; that's the taste I'm used to so wouldn't use the herbs/spices in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pakenham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Being of French Canadian descent pork pies were a traditional meal on Christmas Eve. My Meme is long gone now and her recipe. This is dead on to what I remember in my childhood. the only thing I added was mashed potatoes to bind the filing. Other than that its a keeper. Serve with pickled beets and enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
This a a really authentic tasting french canadian meat pie ! Easy to make and tasty--the key is really in the meat ,mostly pork and I did also add veal. I also used herb de provence for that thyme flavour...really yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I scaled this down because there would have been way too much. The flavour was amazing. I've made tourtiere many times and the seasoning in this was the best. It was quite crumbly though so next time I will mix in some mashed potatoes to see if that will hold it together. Gave this one a four because of it crumbling but once that is fixed it will be the only tourtiere recipe I'll use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie B

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I am planning on making this on saturday, do I bake them before freezing?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
It had the perfect flavour but a little too crumbly...next time I'll add a little more of the juice back in. Very nice though...the French Canadian hubby actually liked it and he is super picky. Also watch out...the total time is misleading....it took about 40mins longer than it indicated!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyn Dumont

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Traditional Indiana Breaded Tenderloin

Watch how to make this sandwich that is a favorite of Indiana residents.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

French Egg and Bacon Sandwich

See how to make a bacon and egg sandwich with a French toast twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States