Traditional French Canadian Tourtiere Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Best ever tasting tourtieres! I made half the recipe and added 4 cloves of finely chopped garlic, omitted the all spice, added 1 tsp cayenne pepper, 1 1/2 tsp savory, 1 1/2 tsp thyme, 1 tsp cinnamon and only used 1/8 tsp ground clove. I used 3 cubes of Knorr chicken bouillon (sulfate free) in place of the Bovril. I reserved a portion of the raw meat mixture to make a batch of "Ragout de boulettes": Shape into small meatballs, roll into flour and drop into a pot of boiling vegetable stock( made of water, onion, carrot, celeri, garlic, bay leave, salt and pepper). When cooked, thicken with grilled flour and water and serve with mashed potatoes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This recipe is amazing! I cut the recipe in half and I threw in about a pound of ground venison with the pork and beef. I also added 2 tbsp of potato flour as a binder. It turned out fantastic for sure a keeper. Just as I remember my French Canadian family making for Christmas. Thank you so much for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
this was fantastico but i did add some mashed potatoes to it.. Merci!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Awesome recipe! I want to use this recipe for smaller individual portions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Best

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
I've had both styles ground meat and cubed meat.Much prefer the cubed meat recipe but will give this a try and see what my french hubby thinks :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mammarobe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Bovril was made in Canada. We heard the USDA restricted all imports of products containing any beef ingredients from Canada to the US due to the Mad Cow scare. As this item contained some beef ingredient, it is no longer available in the US.Best Substitute is "Better than Bouillon" but eliminate the salt called for in recipe or it will be too salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
not true enough to the traditional family recipe i have at home, but easy and yummy just the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
This is the authentic recipe for tortiere a la Quebecois. It had been several years since I had enjoyed this traditional Christmas Eve fare prepared by my mother-in-law in Laval Quebec, and it tasted just as I remembered it. French Canadians usually add a dollup of ketchup on the side when served, at least, my in-laws did. Somehow the spices come alive with the addition. This is as French Canadian as it gets. For a moister pie, use twice as much ground pork as ground beef in your recipe, and try a dab of ketchup on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Was just like the pie's I would buy at the farmers market loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
The liquid chicken seasoning I use is Knorr's Bovril which is a bouillon concentrate. Available in Canada although I don't know about the USofA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Traditional Indiana Breaded Tenderloin

Watch how to make this sandwich that is a favorite of Indiana residents.

French Egg and Bacon Sandwich

See how to make a bacon and egg sandwich with a French toast twist.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States