Traditional French Canadian Tourtiere Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I made 1/8 of the recipe, for 1.5 pies. used Hot Water Pie Crust II (also from this site) The seasonings were well-balanced, the mix of beef and porc made for a good, moist pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Flavour was great. Only thing I did different was I threw the mixture in the food processor to give it a smoother texture before baking it. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PezPez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Incredibly yummy. I cut the recipe down to make 2 pies because it was my first attempt at tourtiere. But next time I just might make the full recipe for the freezer!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUNLETA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Good Flavor to the pie, but I still find them all a little dry. I am not a big fan of Ketchup, so I tried it with a little HP, is was ok. A friend told me to mix kethup and worchestershire together. I think i will try that next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefLes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Excellent recipe very traditional flavour we loved it. Only reason I did not rate it a full five was the lack of binder. I used mashed potato because I remember my Aunt and Meme doing that and it turned out perfect. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hazelton, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Husband says I could make this once a week. I made a few modifications, I nixed the water. Used a chicken boillion cube and added some left over mashed potatoes along with a cup of peas and a cup of corn. I had on hand a lb of ground beef and a 1.3 lbs of ground pork and one large sweet onion so it was scaled down a bit. 2/3 kids ate it willingly and husband had 3rds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Colgin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I made this appetizer style using puff pastry circles..and folding them perogie style.. sort of a French Canadian "sausage roll".. a bit of work.. but a nice touch to add a bit of "home" to the holidays.. Nice flavour to the meat even though I didn't have the chicken flavouring. I did a bay leaf to the cooking water and I added some mashed potato to the mixture once cooled like my did...I will make this again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I've never made tourtiere before so I was a little concerned. My pere (orginally from St. Jerome) said it reminded him of home. First time I made it it was a little crumbly so I added a little mashed potatoes as a binder as previous reviewers had. Worked great, didn't even notice the potatoes. I've been waiting to make this all year (only make it for Christmas dinner along with turkey, maple pecan pie, etc.). Have some "La tire d'erable" to end the meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Hallelujah! People have begged for my toutière for years, and I never had a recipe to give them! (pinch of this...you know, like grand-maman!). This is so close to mine, I'm going to pass it on (with my little pinches here and there). Try dried poultry seasoning and garlic (powder or other) (to taste!) instead of the liquid chicken seasoning. Merçi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Not the way my Mother-in-Law makes pies. She uses a whole roast beef and pork, boiled and the shredded, making sure all the fat is gone. Chopped onions and small diced potatoes. Everyone in New Brunswick swears by her receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hallyho0

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Traditional Indiana Breaded Tenderloin

Watch how to make this sandwich that is a favorite of Indiana residents.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

French Egg and Bacon Sandwich

See how to make a bacon and egg sandwich with a French toast twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States