Traditional French Canadian Tourtiere Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I carefully reduced it by 8 so I could make one pie. The filling is VERY loose and crumbly despite my adding all the de-fatted liquid back in because it was so dry. The spices are really bland and would need at least doubling or adding after the meat has been simmered. Definitely needs a binder to hold the meat together. Doesn't come near to my memory of past pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teddi Ridler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I've never had a tourtiere before but what I made tasted great. I used your recipe as a base but changed a number of the ingredients. I did not use pepper, cloves, cinnamon or chicken seasoning. I used chicken stock instead of water, added a wee bit more allspice, parsley and also some garlic paste. I don't know how much that changed the flavour as cooking is not my specialty but I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen Davies

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
A bit busy and many more steps than truly "Quebecoise" Tourtiere. I have my old family recipe, passed down from both sides of my family, that is less detailed and takes a lot less time. I'll post it here.It's posted as Nana's Meat pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela MacDonald

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Very close to the recipe my mother makes... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Lapierre

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Finally! I have been searching for a tourtière recipe like my mother in law used to make. My Québécois husband says this is it. The allspice is the secret. I add mashed potatoes to bind it as others have suggested. I use more than 1 tbsp of liquid as we like it a little moister. I too eat it with ketchup on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlene Kemp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Just like my Memere's!!!!! I loved it. Brought back lots of memories of childhood for me. I used lean pork and 90% lean beef so the only thing I will change next time is I would use a little more of the meat juices in it to make it just a little moister next time. Otherwise, it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I have not actually tried this specific recipe. Tourtiere is not hard to make and the seasonings are really personal preference, or family preference. As I looked through the recipes for this French Canadian tradition I LOLed and thought this was the most traditional because it was a recipe to make 8 at one time!! I don't know a French Canadian family that does not make at least this many to have on hand for the holidays! Love it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dede Fluette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
this is the recipe I was looking for, my ancestors only pork, onions, garlic, water, and very little cloves and cinnamon, This is very close to the recipes of the Sagueny,Lac St. Jean area of Quebec, with no vegetables or potatoes. Claudette Bruneau/Heguy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I made 1/8 of the recipe, for 1.5 pies. used Hot Water Pie Crust II (also from this site) The seasonings were well-balanced, the mix of beef and porc made for a good, moist pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Traditional Indiana Breaded Tenderloin

Watch how to make this sandwich that is a favorite of Indiana residents.

French Egg and Bacon Sandwich

See how to make a bacon and egg sandwich with a French toast twist.

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States