Traditional French Canadian Tourtiere Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MILKLISSA79
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This is awesome. My first time making it and it tasted just like what I'm used to. The only changes I made were to scale the recipe to 2 pies, add 2 potatoes, boiled then mashed, and I made my own concentrated chicken liquid. I will be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Best tourtiere I've had since the ones my great aunt used to make in Montreal. Thank-you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This was just like my grandmother used to make. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Liquid chicken seasoning is not chicken stock. It's like liquid bouillon (concentrated chicken broth). It should be with the regular bouillon in your grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nobody'sGirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
Hi Kathleen. This recipe probably comes the closest to the recipe that my grandmother told me about almost thirty years ago. Yours is the only one to have alspice in it that I've seen on the internet. My earliest and fondest memories was my Ma Mere making meat pies on Saturday mornings at 5 o'clock in preparation for the annual get together of the "family" on Saturday night. Meat pie was a weekend experience to sober up the men prior to driving home. Had it on Christmas, but never associated the pie with it. The "meat" that was left over went into plastic containers to be eaten on top of toasted bread with bananas in the morning. I'll try your Tourtiere to see how close it comes to my Grandmother's and hope it does! I've missed a good piece of meat pie for a very long time! Merci!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This is a great, great recipe. The flavor is just amazing. My only advice is DON'T make the full recipe! I did and it took me days. Yes, I now have 7 tourtiere's in my freezer for the winter but I almost lost my mind too! I now cook a manageable 3 at a time. (24 servings.) The smells and flavors of this dish make it the perfect fall or winter meal. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEPHINER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
Superb!!! My husband had never had this before and just loved it!!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Excellent tourtiere! I made two large pies, and both were gone very quickly. I plan on making more soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
This was delicious. I used a little more liquid when boiling the meat and brushed the pie crust with egg yolk to brown it but other than that, it was fantastic!!! My husband is French Canadian and he was very happy, he practically ate half the pie in one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This is it! I have been trying for years to make it just like my Memere'. It was so heart warming to have my whole family talk about her when we had it Chritmas morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dracut, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Traditional Indiana Breaded Tenderloin

Watch how to make this sandwich that is a favorite of Indiana residents.

French Egg and Bacon Sandwich

See how to make a bacon and egg sandwich with a French toast twist.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States